Book details

Macmillan Children's Book

Ruby Finley vs. the Interstellar Invasion

Author: K. Tempest Bradford

Ruby Finley vs. the Interstellar Invasion

Ruby Finley vs. the Interstellar Invasion

$16.99

About This Book

Ruby Finley vs. the Interstellar Invasion is a backyard adventure-mystery by debut children’s author K. Tempest Bradford, perfect for fans of Clean Getaway,...

Page Count
208
On Sale
09/27/2022
Age Range
8-12

Book Details

Ruby Finley vs. the Interstellar Invasion is a backyard adventure-mystery by debut children’s author K. Tempest Bradford, perfect for fans of Clean Getaway, The Last Last Day of Summer, and Sideways School.

Eleven-year-old Ruby is a Black girl who loves studying insects and would do just about anything to be an entomologist, much to the grossed-out dismay of her Gramma. Ruby knows everything there is to know about insects so when she finds the weirdest bug she’s ever seen in her front yard, she makes sure no one is looking and captures it for further study.

But then Ruby realizes that the creature isn't just a regular bug. And it has promptly burned a hole through her window and disappeared. Soon, random things around the neighborhood go missing, and no one's heard from the old lady down the street for a week. Ruby and her friends will have to recover the strange bug before the feds do.

Ruby is the science hero we’ve all been waiting for!

Imprint Publisher

Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)

ISBN

9780374388799

In The News

Junior Library Guild Selection

"A page-turning mix of science, science fiction, and mystery that will empower readers to pursue their own STEM passions." —Kirkus Reviews

"Ruby is a fun, smart, and lovably realistic protagonist, well balanced against the different personalities among her friends. Her strength lies in both her capability and her bonds of family, friendship, and community... An entertaining and highly recommended read, perfect for readers who love science and adventure-mysteries." —Booklist

"Bradford’s entertaining and informative tale highlights the value of scientific and critical thinking as well as the importance of friendship and community." —School Library Journal

"I inhaled this book in half a day and LOVED every moment! Amazing scientist heroine, alien bug, adventures—this book has it all." —Yoon Ha Lee, award-winning author of Dragon Pearl

"An action-packed, hilarious, heart-rending story. It is perfect in every way: from Ruby’s dedication to science to her incredible friend group. I am personally ready for Ruby Finley to take over the world." —Mark Oshiro, award-winning author of The Insiders and You Only Live Once, David Bravo

About the Creators

Ruby Finley vs. the Interstellar Invasion

Ruby Finley vs. the Interstellar Invasion

$16.99