Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Perpetual Orgy

The Perpetual Orgy

Flaubert and Madame Bovary

Mario Vargas Llosa; Translated from the Spanish by Helen Lane

Farrar, Straus and Giroux


The book's first section is a tete-a-tete with Emma Bovary; the second traces the gestation and birth of the novel, as well as Flaubert's method, his mania for documentation, and the novel's literary sources; the third situates it in literary history. Vargas Llosa's first work of non-fiction will send the reader back to Flaubert's masterpiece with renewed interest.

Nobel Prize For Literature, Nobel Prize in Literature

THE PERPETUAL ORGY (Chapter One)An Unrequited Passion
Criticism would perhaps be simplified if, before setting forth an opinion, one avowed one's tastes; for every work of art contains within itself a particular quality stemming from the person...

Reviews from Goodreads

Mario Vargas Llosa; Translated from the Spanish by Helen Lane

Mario Vargas Llosa is Peru's foremost author and the winner of the 2010 Nobel Prize in Literature. In 1994 he was awarded the Cervantes Prize, the Spanish-speaking world's most distinguished literary honor, and in 1995 he won the Jerusalem Prize. His many distinguished works include The Storyteller, The Feast of the Goat, Aunt Julia and the Scriptwriter, Death in the Andes, In Praise of the Stepmother, The Bad Girl, Conversation in the Cathedral, The Way to Paradise, and The War of the End of the World. He lives in London.

image of Mario Vargas Llosao
Morgana Vargas Llosa

How I Lost My Fear of Flying: FSG Work in Progress essay by Vargas Llosa

Learn about Vargas Llosa's Nobel Prize

New York Times profile: A Storyteller Enthralled by the Power of Art

Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Latest on Facebook