Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Many Deaths of the Black Company

The Many Deaths of the Black Company

Chronicles of The Black Company

Glen Cook

Tor Books


"Let me tell you who I am, on the chance that these scribblings do survive. . .

"I am Murgen, Standardbearer of the Black Company, though I bear the shame of having lost that standard in battle. I am keeping these Annals because Croaker is dead, One-Eye won't, and hardly anyone else can read or write. I will be your guide for however long it takes the Shadowlanders to force our present predicament to its inevitable end. . ."

The Many Deaths of the Black Company comprises the novels Water Sleeps and Soldiers Live—the fourth and final omnibus volume of Glen Cook's Chronicles of the Black Company, one of the greatest fantasy epics of our age.


In those days the Black Company did not exist. This I know because there were laws and decrees that told me so. But I did not feel entirely insubstantial.

The Company standard, its Captain and Lieutenant, its Standardbearer and all...

Praise for The Many Deaths of the Black Company

“Cook's talent for combining gritty realism and high fantasy provides a singular edge.” —Library Journal on Water Sleeps

“Cook provides a rich world of assorted races, cultures, and religions; his characters combine the mythic or exotic with the realistic, engaging in absorbing alliances, enmities, and double-crosses.” —Publishers Weekly on Bleak Seasons


Reviews from Goodreads

Glen Cook

GLEN COOK lives in St. Louis, Missouri.

Glen Cook

Tor Books

Latest on Facebook