Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Curse of the Campfire Weenies

The Curse of the Campfire Weenies

And Other Warped and Creepy Tales

Weenies Stories

David Lubar

Starscape

BUY THE BOOK

Award-winning storyteller David Lubar's third collection of warped and creepy tales, in which the young protagonists encounter monsters of every kind, from a thirsty vampire and wandering ghost to a dreaded math teacher and overly enthusiastic Girl Scout leader.

A boy discovers the answer to one of the great urban mysteries: why are pigeons always pooping in parks? A second-grade class learns why they should always be nice to their math teacher….An ancient predator uses the internet to search out its prey… A young girl and her little brother escape a campfire weenie only to encounter something even more terrifying: a troop of Girl Scouts singing campfire songs.

For this, his third collection of warped and creepy "weenie" tales, critically-acclaimed author and master of the macabre David Lubar traveled deep into the shadowy corners of his mind, looking for new ways to amuse and terrify his readers. And in the tradition of In the Land of the Lawn Weenies and Invasion of the Road Weenies, he reveals the inspiration behind each of the thirty-five stories at the end of the book.

Books for the Teen Age, New York Public Library, NYPL Books for the Teen Age, Kansas State Reading Circle

Curse of the Campfire Weenies

MR. HOOHAA!
I can stare a werewolf in the face and laugh. I can step up to a vampire and shake his cold, undead hand without trembling. No problem. I've sat through every horror movie that's...

Praise for The Curse of the Campfire Weenies

“This book will talk itself right off the shelves, and reluctant readers will devour it.” —School Library Journal

“Another cool collection. This would be perfect to read around a campfire--or at any sleepover. They are creepy, but also hilarious.” —Detroit Free Press

-

Reviews from Goodreads

David Lubar

David Lubar created a sensation with his debut novel, Hidden Talents, an ALA Best Book for Young Adults. Thousands of kids and educators across the country have voted Hidden Talents onto over twenty state lists. David is also the author of True Talents, the sequel to Hidden Talents; Flip, an ALA Best Book for Young Adults and a VOYA Best Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror selection; five short story collections, including In the Land of the Lawn Weenies, Invasion of the Road Weenies, The Battle of the Red Hot Pepper Weenies, and Attack of the Vampire Weenies; and the Nathan Abercrombie, Accidental Zombie series. Lubar grew up in Morristown, New Jersey, and he has also lived in New Brunswick, Edison, and Piscataway, NJ, and Sacramento, CA. Besides writing, he has also worked as a video game programmer and designer. He now lives in Nazareth, Pennsylvania.

image of David Lubaro
Joelle Lubar

Starscape

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER