Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Jericho's Road

Jericho's Road

A Story of the Texas Rangers

Texas Rangers (Volume 6)

Elmer Kelton

Forge Books


This is Jericho's Road. Take the Other.

When the young Texas Ranger Andy Pickard is assigned to the Texas-Mexico border he learns the meaning of this ominous notice on the edge of a great tract of ranch land above the Rio Grande. It is Jericho Jackson's country and Jackson is at war with a similarly ruthless cattle baron on the Mexican side of the river, Guadalupe Chavez.

The two men are rustling each others' cattle, raiding and killing on both sides of the border, and heading for a bloody showdown-with the Texas Rangers standing between them.

Praise for Jericho's Road

“As always, Mr. Kelton's history is accurate and his characters clearly drawn and believable.” —The Dallas Morning News on Jericho's Road

“Once again, Kelton offers and exciting tale in which the bad guys are really bad and some of the good guys are, too. His characters are sharly defined, the historical background is vivid and the gunplay can't be beat.” —Publishers Weekly on Jericho's Road


Reviews from Goodreads

Elmer Kelton

Elmer Kelton (1926-2009) was the award-winning author of more than forty novels, including The Time It Never Rained, Other Men's Horses, Texas Standoff and Hard Trail to Follow. He grew up on a ranch near Crane, Texas, and earned a journalism degree from the University of Texas. His first novel, Hot Iron, was published in 1956. Among his awards have been seven Spurs from Western Writers of America and four Western Heritage awards from the National Cowboy Hall of Fame. His novel The Good Old Boys was made into a television film starring Tommy Lee Jones. In addition to his novels, Kelton worked as an agricultural journalist for 42 years, and served in the infantry in World War II. He died in 2009.

image of Elmer Keltono
Jim Bean Professional Photography

Forge Books

Latest on Facebook