Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Things You Save in a Fire

Things You Save in a Fire

Katherine Center

St. Martin's Press

BUY THE BOOK

From the New York Times bestselling author of How to Walk Away comes a stunning new novel about courage, hope, and learning to love against all odds.

Cassie Hanwell was born for emergencies. As one of the only female firefighters in her Texas firehouse, she's seen her fair share of them, and she's a total pro at other people's tragedies. But when her estranged and ailing mother asks her to give up her whole life and move to Boston, Cassie suddenly has an emergency of her own.

The tough, old-school Boston firehouse is as different from Cassie's old job as it could possibly be. Hazing, a lack of funding, and poor facilities mean that the firemen aren't exactly thrilled to have a "lady" on the crew—even one as competent and smart as Cassie. Except for the infatuation-inspiring rookie, who doesn't seem to mind having Cassie around. But she can't think about that. Because love is girly, and it’s not her thing. And don’t forget the advice her old captain gave her: Never date firefighters. Cassie can feel her resolve slipping...and it means risking it all—the only job she’s ever loved, and the hero she’s worked like hell to become.

Katherine Center's Things You Save in a Fire is a heartfelt and healing tour-de-force about the strength of vulnerability, the nourishing magic of forgiveness, and the life-changing power of defining courage, at last, for yourself.

Praise for Things You Save in a Fire

Praise for Things You Save in a Fire:

One of:
The Washington Post's "The 10 Books to Read in 2019 Based on What You Loved in 2018"
The Hollywood Reporter's "2019 Books to Keep on Your Radar"
She Reads' "Most Anticipated Books of 2019"
Good Housekeeping's "25 Best New Books of Summer 2019"

"Oh, how I love Katherine Center’s writing…and her newest novel is a gem...a story that reminds us that the word emergency has, at its heart, a new beginning. Just read it, and thank me later.” —Jodi Picoult, New York Times bestselling author of A Spark of Light and Small Great Things

“Center gives readers a sharp and witty exploration of love and forgiveness that is at once insightful, entertaining, and thoroughly addictive.”Kirkus, starred review

Praise for How to Walk Away:

"A marvelous example of acceptance and healing and a celebration of family."USA Today

"Center explores the limits of hope and love...[she] transforms the story of a family tragedy into a heartfelt guide to living the fullest life possible." —Publisher's Weekly

"With its appealing characters and wisdom about grappling with life’s challenges, Center’s sixth novel has all the makings of a breakout hit." —Booklist (starred review)

"A story about survival that is heartbreakingly honest and wryly funny, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Elizabeth Berg." —Kirkus

Reviews from Goodreads

Katherine Center

KATHERINE CENTER is the New York Times bestselling author of seven novels, including How to Walk Away, Happiness for Beginners, and The Bright Side of Disaster. Her fourth novel, The Lost Husband, is soon to be a movie. Katherine has been compared to both Nora Ephron and Jane Austen, and the Dallas Morning News calls her stories, “satisfying in the most soul-nourishing way.” Katherine recently gave a TEDx talk on how stories teach us empathy, and her work has appeared in USA Today, InStyle, Redbook, People, The Atlantic, Real Simple, and others. Katherine lives in Houston with her husband and two sweet kids. Visit her online at katherinecenter.com.

Instagram

St. Martin's Press

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER