Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Cat Sitter Among the Pigeons

Cat Sitter Among the Pigeons

A Dixie Hemingway Mystery

Dixie Hemingway Mysteries (Volume 6)

Blaize Clement

Minotaur Books

READ AN EXCERPT →

BUY THE BOOK

Trade Paperback

EXCERPT

1

I read somewhere that if two quantum particles come into contact with each other—like if they happen to bump shoulders in the dairy aisle of a subatomic supermarket—they will be forever joined in some mysterious way that nobody...

Reviews

Praise for Cat Sitter Among the Pigeons

“Another enjoyable tale from Blaize Clement.” —Kirkus Reviews on RAINING CAT SITTERS AND DOGS

“Smooth prose, a lush background...a fine-feathered read.” —Publishers Weekly on RAINING CAT SITTERS AND DOGS

“Thoughtful and compelling.” —Publishers Weekly on CAT SITTER ON A HOT TIN ROOF

“A feel-good [series]...Recommend this one for readers who liked the southern setting and animal characters in Joyce and Jim Lavene's The Telltale Turtle.” —Booklist on CAT SITTER ON A HOT TIN ROOF

“Gutsy, sexy...Dixie is Siesta Key's favorite pet sitter.” —Sarasota Herald-Tribune on EVEN CAT SITTERS GET THE BLUES

“Blends elements of cozy and thriller to produce an unusual and enjoyable hybrid . . . sure to delight readers.” —Publishers Weekly on EVEN CAT SITTERS GET THE BLUES

“For fans of Susan Conant and Clea Simon.” —Library Journal on EVEN CAT SITTERS GET THE BLUES

“Ingenious...captivating. Here is a series that even people who dislike pet mysteries can enjoy.” —Reviewing the Evidence on EVEN CAT SITTERS GET THE BLUES

“Will have readers begging for more treats.” —Lansing State Journal on EVEN CAT SITTERS GET THE BLUES

“Fast paced...the canine caper crowd will enjoy Florida's leading pet-sitter.” —Midwest Book Review on DUPLICITY DOGGED THE DACHSHUND

“Clement's fast-paced sophomore effort...builds suspense and delivers startling revelations.” —Publishers Weekly on DUPLICITY DOGGED THE DACHSHUND

“A fast-paced novel, an intriguing plot. Clement also infuses this entertaining story with a thoughtful meditation on death, survival, and moving on. It's a lesson the animals in our lives already know.” —Richmond Times-Dispatch on DUPLICITY DOGGED THE DACHSHUND

“Don't let the cutesy title fool you. This isn't one of those lightweight, frothy 'fun with animals' stories... It's tough, gritty, and edgy. One of the strongest points of Clement's work is her knack for building suspense slowly but steadily, to the point where you have no idea what peril might be lurking just around the bend.” —Sarasota Herald-Tribune on DUPLICITY DOGGED THE DACHSHUND

“Clement uses the animals in Dixie's care...to enrich her plot, creating in the process an entertaining cozy, one of the few set in South Florida, land of noir.” —Booklist on DUPLICITY DOGGED THE DACHSHUND

“A knockout read.” —Laurien Berenson, author of Doggie Day Care Murder on CURIOSITY KILLED THE CAT SITTER

“Clement's assured cozy debut introduces an appealing heroine.” —Publishers Weekly on CURIOSITY KILLED THE CAT SITTER

“Impressive...a sure keeper, with well-developed characters, seamless prose, and a winning plot...[a] commendable new series.” —Mystery Lovers.com on CURIOSITY KILLED THE CAT SITTER

“A first-rate debut.” —Booklist on CURIOSITY KILLED THE CAT SITTER

“Entertaining...Dixie is a complex, well-conceived character and the plot fast-moving and believable.” —Kirkus Reviews on CURIOSITY KILLED THE CAT SITTER

“At once a cozy mystery for animal lovers and a jarringly earthy hard-boiled whodunit about human corruption. Clement's sleuth, Florida pet-sitter Dixie Hemingway, is an engaging combination of vulnerability and toughness, but the real heroine of the story is a gritty Abyssinian cat. A good read!” —Susan Conant, author of All Shots and the Holly Winter Dog Lover's Mysteries on CURIOSITY KILLED THE CAT SITTER

“Kick off your flip-flops, find a hammock, and settle in for a fun read. Clement's Floridian heroine, Dixie Hemingway, spouts laugh-out-loud one-liners and words of wisdom in this intriguing whodunit filled with twists, turns, and some pretty captivating critters!” —Cynthia Baxter, author of Murder Packs a Suitcase on CURIOSITY KILLED THE CAT SITTER

“Funny, engaging, and true to life.” —Lee Charles Kelly, author of Like a Dog with a Bone on CURIOSITY KILLED THE CAT SITTER

Curiosity Killed the Cat-Sitter has it all: a feisty heroine, lovable animals, and a solid whodunit. What more could you ask for?” —Barbara Seranella, creator of the Munch Mancini crime novels on CURIOSITY KILLED THE CAT SITTER

“A fantastic who-done-it . . . Fans of fast-paced clever mysteries will appreciate Dixie's efforts to uncover the culprit before she either goes to jail or dies.” —Harriet Klausner Reviews on CURIOSITY KILLED THE CAT SITTER

“A new star in the 'mysteries with animals' firmament...this book stands out in the genre for its plotting, pacing, and well formed characters, in addition to an enticing tropical locale.” —The Kingston Observer (Kingston, MA) on CURIOSITY KILLED THE CAT SITTER

“A keeper, with its plucky protagonist, cats galore, and a nice sense of place.” —Library Journal on CURIOSITY KILLED THE CAT SITTER

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

Blaize Clement

BLAIZE CLEMENT originated the Dixie Hemingway mystery series, starting with Curiosity Killed the Cat Sitter and Duplicity Dogged the Dachshund. She collaborated with her son John Clement on the plots and characters for forthcoming novels. Blaize lived for many years in Sarasota, Florida.

Blaize Clement

Photo: Rick Geiger

Community

Criminalelement.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS →

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER

    From the Publisher

    Minotaur Books

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER