Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Mission Hill

Mission Hill

A Novel

Abby Endicott Novels (Volume 3)

Pamela Wechsler

Minotaur Books

READ AN EXCERPT →

BUY THE BOOK

Trade Paperback

Abby Endicott is chief of the District Attorney’s homicide unit in Boston, where she investigates and prosecutes the city’s most dangerous killers. A member of Beacon Hill’s elite, and a graduate of the Winsor school and then Harvard Law, the prosecutor’s office is not the prestigious job that would have been expected of her. She has been known to change into an evening gown amidst bodies in the morgue. She loves her job, and is committed to it, refusing all pressure to quit from her upper-crust parents or threats from the city’s most ruthless killers. But among Abby’s many secrets is her longtime affair with fellow prosecutor Tim Mooney, a married father of one.

One night, Abby is awakened very late by a phone call from her favorite detective, who reports that there has been a horrific murder but is vague about the specifics. When she arrives at the crime scene and discovers the identity of the victim, Abby knows the terror and tragedy are only beginning.

In Mission Hill, debut novelist Pamela Wechsler delivers a gripping and very human portrayal of a woman who will stop at nothing to find the truth, even if it challenges everything she believes about justice.

EXCERPT


Chapter One


 


I’m in bed, silently reciting their names. Number one, Lester Beale, stabbed his girlfriend twenty-six times. Number two, Jeffrey Younts, shot a fifteen-year-old boy as he stepped off...

Reviews

Praise for Mission Hill

“The author’s knowledge of the legal world shines through, and the result is a story crackling with tension and authenticity … This is an excellent beginning to what seems certain to become a popular series.” —Mystery Scene

“Though the swiftly moving plot offers plenty of surprises, it’s the realism with which the author, a seasoned Boston criminal prosecutor who’s now a legal consultant for TV shows, depicts varied worlds from Brahmin glitzy to Roxbury gritty that will make readers eager for Abby’s next adventure.” –Publishers Weekly

"Fans of Alafair Burke’s 'Samantha Kincaid' series and other legal thriller authors will be well advised to get in on the ground floor of what promises to be an intriguing new series." —Library Journal

"A fast-paced legal thriller that will appeal to fans of Lisa Scottoline and Linda Fairstein." —Booklist

“A fantastic series opener—authentic, gritty and romantic. Pam Wechsler delivers a thrill ride, crackling with suspense, wit and style. The story is rich, the characters are complex, and the writing is deft. I can't wait for the next one.” —Billy Bob Thornton, Academy Award winning writer, actor, and director

“Riveting, suspenseful and heartbreakingly realistic. Pam Wechsler joins the ranks of Boston's finest with her searing and authentic look inside the prosecution—and at the danger when justice gets personal. Mission Hill is terrific.”—Hank Phillippi Ryan, Agatha, Anthony and Mary Higgins Clark award winning author

“With a tough and terrific heroine in Boston Brahmin and homicide chief (yes, that's right) Abby Endicott, Mission Hill is a perfect mix of suspense, character, and authenticity. A wonderful read.”—Susan Elia MacNeal, author of Mr. Churchill’s Secretary

"Wechsler's multilayered plot realistically touches on legal ethics, political intrigue and construction double-dealings with aplomb with plenty of twists ... Mission Hill gives Boston a good workout, from Jamaica Plain to Roxbury to Beacon Hill. Wechsler's strong storytelling fits well into the legal thriller genre and should attract fans of Linda Fairstein, Alafair Burke and Lisa Scottoline." —Associated Press

"Wechsler, who has written for Law & Order, fills the book with energetic lawyer chat, lending Abby a breezy, cynical wit that complements her narrative style and wry character portrayals." —The Improper Bostonian

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

Pamela Wechsler

PAMELA WECHSLER grew up in the Boston area and is a graduate of Tufts University and Boston University School of Law. After spending years as a criminal prosecutor at the local, state and federal levels, she moved to Los Angeles, where she spent seven years as a legal consultant and writer for network television shows, including:Law and Order; Law and Order: Criminal Intent; Law and Order: Trial by Jury; Conviction; and Canterbury's Law.

Pamela Wechsler

Beth White

Community

Criminalelement.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS →

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER

    From the Publisher

    Minotaur Books

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER