Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Legendary

Legendary

A Caraval Novel

Caraval (Volume 2)

Stephanie Garber

Flatiron Books

BUY THE BOOK

New York Times bestselling author Stephanie Garber’s limitless imagination takes flight once more in the colorful, mesmerizing, and immersive sequel to the bestselling breakout debut Caraval

A heart to protect. A debt to repay. A game to win.

After being swept up in the magical world of Caraval, Donatella Dragna has finally escaped her father and saved her sister Scarlett from a disastrous arranged marriage. The girls should be celebrating, but Tella isn’t yet free. She made a desperate bargain with a mysterious criminal, and what Tella owes him no one has ever been able to deliver: Caraval Master Legend’s true name.

The only chance of uncovering Legend’s identity is to win Caraval, so Tella throws herself into the legendary competition once more—and into the path of the murderous heir to the throne, a doomed love story, and a web of secrets…including her sister's. Caraval has always demanded bravery, cunning, and sacrifice. But now the game is asking for more. If Tella can’t fulfill her bargain and deliver Legend’s name, she’ll lose everything she cares about—maybe even her life. But if she wins, Legend and Caraval will be destroyed forever.

Welcome, welcome to Caraval...the games have only just begun.

Praise for Legendary

“The setting of the game is still fantastic in its spectacle and intrigue, and Garber pushes her world building even further, expanding into a surrounding empire built on old mythologies, rumored gods and goddesses, and superstitions that have given Caraval and Legend their power. The pacing is impeccable, with urgency increasing to an almost breathless point as Tella runs from clue to clue, while bittersweet truths and devastating betrayals unfold. Readers will want line up yet again for the next game to begin.” —Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books, starred review

“A tour de force of imagination. Themes of love, betrayal, and the price of magic (and desire) swirl like Caraval’s enchantments, and Dante’s sensuous kisses will thrill readers as much as they do Tella. Dark, seductive, over-the-top: Characters and book alike will enthrall those who choose to play.” —Kirkus Reviews

Caraval was a rollercoaster ride of twists and turns, and the latest installment lives up to that standard and more. Garber succeeds marvelously in broadening this magical, seductive world.” —New York Daily News

“I devoured Legendary in a day—it’s ambitious, sinister, and so luscious. The worldbuilding is poignant and bewitching. The stakes are tear-out-your-heart ruthless. And oh, the characters! They’re so deeply felt that you’re right there with them, terrified what’s real and what’s part of the game.” —Roshani Choksi, New Yor… More…


“The setting of the game is still fantastic in its spectacle and intrigue, and Garber pushes her world building even further, expanding into a surrounding empire built on old mythologies, rumored gods and goddesses, and superstitions that have given Caraval and Legend their power. The pacing is impeccable, with urgency increasing to an almost breathless point as Tella runs from clue to clue, while bittersweet truths and devastating betrayals unfold. Readers will want line up yet again for the next game to begin.” —Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books, starred review

“A tour de force of imagination. Themes of love, betrayal, and the price of magic (and desire) swirl like Caraval’s enchantments, and Dante’s sensuous kisses will thrill readers as much as they do Tella. Dark, seductive, over-the-top: Characters and book alike will enthrall those who choose to play.” —Kirkus Reviews

Caraval was a rollercoaster ride of twists and turns, and the latest installment lives up to that standard and more. Garber succeeds marvelously in broadening this magical, seductive world.” —New York Daily News

“I devoured Legendary in a day—it’s ambitious, sinister, and so luscious. The worldbuilding is poignant and bewitching. The stakes are tear-out-your-heart ruthless. And oh, the characters! They’re so deeply felt that you’re right there with them, terrified what’s real and what’s part of the game.” —Roshani Choksi, New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Touched Queen

Praise for Caraval:

New York Times bestseller (February-April 2017)
ABA IndieBound national bestseller
#1 ABA IndieNext Pick
Entertainment Weekly Top 10 YA Novel of 2017
Teen Vogue Best YA Book of 2017
Publishers Weekly Flying Start
Goodreads Choice Award finalist (two categories)
BuzzFeed Best YA Book of the Year
Paste Magazine Best YA Book of the Year
The Hunger Games meets The Night Circus. Grade: A-.” —Entertainment Weekly
“Impressive, original, wondrous.” —USA Today
“Spellbinding.” —US Weekly
“Magnificent. A spellbinding tale of love, loss, sacrifice, and hope.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review
“I lost myself in this world and never wanted to come out.” —Sabaa Tahir, author of An Ember in the Ashes
“Beautifully written.” —Renée Ahdieh, author of The Wrath and the Dawn
“Shimmers with magic.” —Marie Rutkoski, author of The Winner’s Curse
“Darkly enchanting.” —Kiersten White, author of And I Darken
“Like stepping into a living dream.” —Stacey Lee, author of Outrun the Moon
“Destined to capture imaginations.” —Kirkus Reviews
“Ideal for fans of The Night Circus, Stardust, and The Hunger Games.” —School Library Journal

Less…

Reviews from Goodreads