Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
I Hate Everyone But You

I Hate Everyone But You

A Novel

Gaby Dunn and Allison Raskin

Wednesday Books

READ AN EXCERPT →

BUY THE BOOK

Hardcover

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!

A POPSUGAR "Best Young Adult Book of 2017" Pick

An Autumn 2017 Indie Next Pick!

Named by Bustle as one of the "16 Books The Internet Is Going To Be Obsessed With This Year"

A Barnes & Noble Pick for “Most Anticipated LGBTQIAP YA Books of the Second Half of 2017”

"Gaby Dunn and Allison Raskin have captured everything about the pain and excitement of that first terrifying, fabulous, confusing year on your own in college… In this epistolary novel, you live day by day with Ava and Gen, deep inside that friendship, so deep, it feels like it’s your own." —Francine Pascal, bestselling author of the Sweet Valley High series

Perfect for fans of “Robin Talley’s What We Left Behind or Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl” (School Library Journal, Starred Review), Gaby Dunn and Allison Raskin’s I Hate Everyone But You is a hilarious and heartfelt debut novel about new beginnings, love and heartbreak, and ultimately the power of friendship.

Dear Best Friend,
I can already tell that I will hate everyone but you.
Sincerely,
Ava Helmer
(that brunette who won’t leave you alone)

We're still in the same room, you weirdo.
Stop crying.
G

So begins a series of texts and emails sent between two best friends, Ava and Gen, as they head off to their first semesters of college on opposite sides of the country. From first loves to weird roommates, heartbreak, self-discovery, coming out and mental health, the two of them document every wild and awkward moment to each other. But as each changes and grows into her new life, will their friendship be able to survive the distance?

EXCERPT

PLEASE CONFIRM RECEIPT OF THIS MESSAGE


Ava Helmer <[email protected]>

to Gen

Dear Best Friend,

It is with a heavy heart that I write the first of what I can only imagine will be hundreds of emails...

Reviews

Praise for I Hate Everyone But You

An Autumn 2017 Indie Next Pick!

Named by Bustle as one of the "16 Books The Internet Is Going To Be Obsessed With This Year"

A POPSUGAR "Best Young Adult Book of 2017" Pick

A Barnes & Noble Pick for Most Anticipated LGBTQIAP YA Books of the Second Half of 2017

"Give to fans of Robin Talley’s What We Left Behind or Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl. VERDICT A first purchase for all libraries serving older teens." -School Library Journal (Starred Review)

"A fast-moving celebration of a friendship transformed by distance, change, and burgeoning maturity, but still stubbornly strong." -Publishers Weekly

"Fans will be delighted." -Kirkus Reviews

"Gaby Dunn and Allison Raskin have captured everything about the pain and excitement of that first terrifying, fabulous, confusing year on your own in college. Hard enough, but try doing it separated from your dearest friend in the world. In this epistolary novel, you live day by day with Ava and Gen, deep inside that friendship, so deep, it feels like it’s your own." -Francine Pascal, bestselling author of the Sweet Valley High series

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

Gaby Dunn and Allison Raskin

Allison Raskin & Gaby Dunn are two best friends who live in Los Angeles. They started the comedy YouTube channel Just Between Us in 2014 and have since then spent far too much time together. Gaby’s journalism has appeared in pretty much every major publication and Allison has written some really funny group texts with her family. They hope to die within one hour of each other so neither has to plan a funeral. I Hate Everyone But You is their debut novel.

Gaby Dunn

Robin Roemer

Allison Raskin

Robin Roemer