Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Sweet Black Waves

Sweet Black Waves

The Sweet Black Waves Trilogy (Volume 1)

Kristina Perez

Imprint

BUY THE BOOK

For fans of Graceling and The Mists of Avalon, Kristina Pérez's Sweet Black Waves is a lush fantasy about warring countries and forbidden romance that will have readers entranced.

As best friend and lady-in-waiting to the princess, Branwen is guided by two principles: devotion to her homeland and hatred for the raiders who killed her parents. When she unknowingly saves the life of her enemy, he awakens her ancient healing magic and opens her heart. Branwen begins to dream of peace, but the princess she serves is not so easily convinced. Fighting for what's right, even as her powers grow, will set Branwen against her best friend and the only man she's ever loved.

Kristina Pérez's debut features star-crossed lovers who change the fate of two nations. Inspired by the legend of Tristan and Iseult, this is the story of the legend’s true heroine: Branwen.

And don't miss the spellbinding sequel, Wild Savage Stars!

An Imprint Book

“Fans of Joan Wolf’s Dark Ages of Britain trilogy and Tessa Gratton’s The Queens of Innis Lear will enjoy this dreamy tale, which is carried along with vibrant descriptions and intense emotion.” —RT Reviews

Devastating... will leave readers eager for a sequel.” —Publishers Weekly

KISS OF LIFE


SMOKE AND SCREAMS AND LOVE.

Fractured images swirled in the back of Branwen’s mind, transporting her a thousand leagues away from Castle Rigani. She dug her...

Praise for Sweet Black Waves

“Fantasy, family secrets, and forbidden romance, oh my!” —Teen Vogue

“Kristina Pérez’s writing is evocative and immersive... inventive and intriguing.” – Tor.com

“The female characters are vivid, powerful, and passionate... a thrilling roller coaster.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Intense, swoon worthy, and smart.”
—Vic James, author of the Dark Gifts Trilogy

“An enchanting story of fierce friendship and dangerous love... Pérez has written a book that whispers the sound of the ocean as you turn each page.”
—Alice Broadway, author of the Ink Trilogy

Star-crossed love, tested loyalties, and magic that binds and burns—Sweet Black Waves gripped me all the way to the shocking ending.”
—Heidi Heilig, author of The Girl from Everywhere and The Ship Beyond Time

-

Reviews from Goodreads

Kristina Perez

Kristina Pérez is a half-Argentine, half-Norwegian native New Yorker who has spent the past two decades living in Europe and Asia. She holds a PhD in Medieval Literature from the University of Cambridge and has taught at the National University of Singapore and the University of Hong Kong. Sweet Black Waves is her debut novel.