Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Reckoning

The Reckoning

A Thriller

Children's House (Volume 2)

Yrsa Sigurdardottir

Minotaur Books

BUY THE BOOK

The Reckoning is the stunning follow-up to The Legacy, which was the start of a thrilling new series that Booklist (starred) recommends for fans of Tana French.

Vaka sits, regretting her choice of coat, on the cold steps of her new school. Her father appears to have forgotten to pick her up, her mother has forgotten to give her this week’s pocket money, and the school is already locked for the day. Grownups, she decides, are useless.

With no way to call home, she resigns herself to waiting on the steps until her father remembers her. When a girl approaches, Vaka recognizes her immediately from class, and from her unusual appearance: two of her fingers are missing. The girl lives at the back of the school, on the other side of a high fence, and Vaka asks to call her father from the girl's house. That afternoon is the last time anyone sees Vaka.

Detective Huldar and child psychologist Freyja are called in. Soon, they find themselves at the heart of another shocking case.

From the international number one-bestselling author of The Silence of the Sea, winner of the 2015 Petrona Award for Best Scandinavian Crime Novel Yrsa Sigurdardottir returns with the follow-up to The Legacy.

Chapter 1


Huldar dropped the bundle of photocopies on his desk. There was hardly anything else on it apart from a small collection of half-empty coffee mugs. These days he mostly got the assignments that no one else in CID wanted, like...

Praise for The Reckoning

"Sigurdardottir just keeps getting better and better. This is must-reading for Scandinavian crime fans."—Publishers Weekly (Starred and Boxed)

"Sigurdardottir offsets sharp procedural elements and gruesome crimes with masterful character development and social commentary, creating a riveting, affecting thriller."—Booklist

"Nordic crime fiction continues to be perennially popular and first-rate, with good reason. Case in point: The Reckoning. The Reckoning is dark, grave, and graphicbut also gripping and compassionate"—The Seattle Times

"[A] chilling page-turner."—National Examiner

Praise for The Legacy:

"[A] relentlessly paced series launch...Few readers will be able to put down this powerful tale of revenge."—Publishers Weekly (starred) on The Legacy

"A complex, character-driven procedural, powerfully rooted in buried secrets of childhood trauma. Recommended for fans of Tana French and Camilla Lackberg."—Booklist (starred) on The Legacy

"Brilliant . . . her best novel to date."—The Globe and Mail on The Legacy

"The Legacy is the start of an exciting new direction for Yrsa Sigurdardottir. The horror of a decades-old family separation provides the catalyst for dark crimes and a complex investigation."—Sarah Ward, author of In Bitter Chill

"We have always been able to rely on Yrsa Sigurdardóttir for a good story well told, and The Legacy is no exception. A strong sense of place, interesting characters and a chilling plot make The Legacy a novel to savor.… More…

"Sigurdardottir just keeps getting better and better. This is must-reading for Scandinavian crime fans."—Publishers Weekly (Starred and Boxed)

"Sigurdardottir offsets sharp procedural elements and gruesome crimes with masterful character development and social commentary, creating a riveting, affecting thriller."—Booklist

"Nordic crime fiction continues to be perennially popular and first-rate, with good reason. Case in point: The Reckoning. The Reckoning is dark, grave, and graphicbut also gripping and compassionate"—The Seattle Times

"[A] chilling page-turner."—National Examiner

Praise for The Legacy:

"[A] relentlessly paced series launch...Few readers will be able to put down this powerful tale of revenge."—Publishers Weekly (starred) on The Legacy

"A complex, character-driven procedural, powerfully rooted in buried secrets of childhood trauma. Recommended for fans of Tana French and Camilla Lackberg."—Booklist (starred) on The Legacy

"Brilliant . . . her best novel to date."—The Globe and Mail on The Legacy

"The Legacy is the start of an exciting new direction for Yrsa Sigurdardottir. The horror of a decades-old family separation provides the catalyst for dark crimes and a complex investigation."—Sarah Ward, author of In Bitter Chill

"We have always been able to rely on Yrsa Sigurdardóttir for a good story well told, and The Legacy is no exception. A strong sense of place, interesting characters and a chilling plot make The Legacy a novel to savor."—Peter Robinson

"If you like your crime fiction dark and engaging, look no further. A cracking start to a new series by Yrsa Sigurdardottir."—Mari Hannah on The Legacy

"Yrsa remains the queen of Icelandic thriller writers."—Guardian on The Legacy

Less…

Reviews from Goodreads

Yrsa Sigurdardottir

YRSA SIGURDARDÓTTIR (pronounced EAR-suh SIG-ur-dar-daughter) lives with her family in Reykjavík. She is a director of one of Iceland’s largest engineering firms. Her work is climbing bestseller lists all over the world, and films are currently in production for several of her books. Her titles include The Silence of the Sea and The Legacy.

image of Yrsa Sigurdardottiro
Sigurjon Ragnar

Criminalelement.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS →

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER

    Minotaur Books

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER