Book details

The Girl the Sea Gave Back

A Novel

Sky and Sea (Volume 2)

Author: Adrienne Young

The Girl the Sea Gave Back

The Girl the Sea Gave Back

About This Book

From Adrienne Young, New York Times bestselling author of Sky in the Deep, comes her new gut-wrenching epic The Girl the Sea Gave Back.

For...

Page Count
350
Genre
On Sale
09/03/2019

Book Details

From Adrienne Young, New York Times bestselling author of Sky in the Deep, comes her new gut-wrenching epic The Girl the Sea Gave Back.

For as long as she can remember, Tova has lived among the Svell, the people who found her washed ashore as a child and use her for her gift as a Truthtongue. Her own home and clan are long-faded memories, but the sacred symbols and staves inked over every inch of her skin mark her as one who can cast the rune stones and see into the future. She has found a fragile place among those who fear her, but when two clans to the east bury their age-old blood feud and join together as one, her world is dangerously close to collapse.

For the first time in generations, the leaders of the Svell are divided. Should they maintain peace or go to war with the allied clans to protect their newfound power? And when their chieftain looks to Tova to cast the stones, she sets into motion a series of events that will not only change the landscape of the mainland forever but will give her something she believed she could never have again—a home.

Imprint Publisher

Wednesday Books

ISBN

9781250168504

In The News

"Lyrical prose ... and an evocative atmosphere elevate Young’s tale of war, identity, and fate." - Publishers Weekly

"Young’s lyrical writing and lush descriptions make this world of fjords and forest come alive." - Culturess

"A fast-paced and fierce atmospheric story with a heavy dose of fate and a light touch of romance." - Young Adult Book Central

"Gripping and exquisitely written. The Girl the Sea Gave Back tore at my heart strings until I was completely unraveled. Readers will fall in love with this story, whether they are fans of Sky in the Deep or new to Adrienne Young's breathtaking world." - Stephanie Garber, New York Times bestselling author of Caraval

"Eerie and beautiful, The Girl the Sea Gave Back is set in a world so vivid, you can almost touch it. I devoured this story of a lonely, powerful young woman with the ability to change the fate of her world, and the brave young chieftain who must stop her at all costs." - Kristen Ciccarelli, bestselling author of The Last Namsara

"Ignore this omen at your own peril--you will love this book! Perfect for fans of The Last Kingdom, it really immersed me in the Viking world that felt so mystical, complex, and fully formed. From the moment we first meet them, Tova and Halvard unravel the complicated threads of family, fate, and destiny." - A. C. Gaughen, author of Reign the Earth

About the Creators

The Girl the Sea Gave Back

The Girl the Sea Gave Back