Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Port of Shadows

Port of Shadows

A Novel of the Black Company

Chronicles of The Black Company (Volume 3)

Glen Cook

Tor Books


The father of Grimdark returns…

The soldiers of the Black Company don’t ask questions, they get paid. But being “The Lady’s favored” is attracting the wrong kind of attention and has put a target on their backs, and the Company’s historian, Croaker, has the biggest target of all.

The one person who was taken into The Lady’s Tower and returned unchanged has earned the special interest of the court of sorcerers known as The Ten Who Were Taken. Now, he and the company are being asked to seek the aid of their newest member, Mischievous Rain, to break a rebel army. However, Croaker doesn’t trust any ofthe Taken, especially not ones that look so much like The Lady and her sister…

The Chronicles of the Black Company
#1 The Chronicles of The Black Company /#2 Port of Shadows / #3 The Books of the South / #3 The Return of The Black Company / #4 The Many Deaths of the Black Company

Praise for Port of Shadows

"Cook provides a rich world of assorted races, cultures, and religions; his characters combine the mythic or exotic with the realistic, engaging in absorbing alliances, enmities, and double-crosses." —Publishers Weekly on Bleak Seasons

"Sheer page-turning fun!" —Robin McKinley on Bleak Seasons

Reviews from Goodreads

Glen Cook

GLEN COOK is the author of dozens of novels of fantasy and science fiction, including The Black Company series, The Garrett Files, and The Tyranny of the Night. Cook was born in 1944 in New York City. He attended the Clarion Writers Workshop in 1970, where he met his wife, Carol. He lives in St. Louis, Missouri.

Glen Cook

Tor Books

Latest on Facebook