Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Echo Wife

The Echo Wife

Sarah Gailey

Tor Books

BUY THE BOOK

Sarah Gailey's The Echo Wife is a non-stop thrill ride of lies, betrayal, and identity, perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and Killing Eve.

Evelyn Caldwell’s husband Nathan has been having an affair — with Evelyn Caldwell.

Or, to be exact, with Martine, a genetically cloned replica made from Evelyn’s own award-winning research.

But that wasn’t even the worst part.

When they said all happy families are alike, I don’t think this is what they meant…

Praise for The Echo Wife

Advance bookseller praise for The Echo Wife

“Fans of The Wife Between Us and Black Mirror will love this brutally human story of betrayal and revenge!” —Jessica Dushame, White Birch Books

“Sarah Gailey continues to astound and unsettle with THE ECHO WIFE…[it] leaves you missing the bus stop, reading at dinner, and squirming in your seat uncomfortably…and I loved every moment of the experience.” —Mariana N Calderon, Second Star to the Right Books

The Echo Wife is a speculative thriller reminiscent of Ex Machina that’ll have dark thoughts sliding under your skin and remaining there indefinitely.” —Leah Atlee, Bright Side Bookshop

"For those familiar with Gailey's work, expect this one to offer familiar pleasures and some new surprises. And for those who aren't, well, get ready." —ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY

"Creepy, exhilarating science fiction... A series of dark reveals that leave both the characters and the audience reeling. Readers won't want to put this one down." —Publisher's Weekly

Praise for Magic for Liars

“An eerie and highly entertaining magical mystery." —Buzzfeed, Summer Books to Get Excited About

“A brilliant whodunnit in the vein of The Magicians.” —BoingBoing

“It's Harry Potter meets Megan Abbott.” —The AV Club

“A great debut...a unique spin on magical noir.” —The Verge

“Full of suspense and magic, with a protagonist as sharp and tart as a lemon, Sarah Gailey has written an unmissable debut.”—Adrienne Celt, author of Invitation to a Bonfire
“I… More…

Advance bookseller praise for The Echo Wife

“Fans of The Wife Between Us and Black Mirror will love this brutally human story of betrayal and revenge!” —Jessica Dushame, White Birch Books

“Sarah Gailey continues to astound and unsettle with THE ECHO WIFE…[it] leaves you missing the bus stop, reading at dinner, and squirming in your seat uncomfortably…and I loved every moment of the experience.” —Mariana N Calderon, Second Star to the Right Books

The Echo Wife is a speculative thriller reminiscent of Ex Machina that’ll have dark thoughts sliding under your skin and remaining there indefinitely.” —Leah Atlee, Bright Side Bookshop

"For those familiar with Gailey's work, expect this one to offer familiar pleasures and some new surprises. And for those who aren't, well, get ready." —ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY

"Creepy, exhilarating science fiction... A series of dark reveals that leave both the characters and the audience reeling. Readers won't want to put this one down." —Publisher's Weekly

Praise for Magic for Liars

“An eerie and highly entertaining magical mystery." —Buzzfeed, Summer Books to Get Excited About

“A brilliant whodunnit in the vein of The Magicians.” —BoingBoing

“It's Harry Potter meets Megan Abbott.” —The AV Club

“A great debut...a unique spin on magical noir.” —The Verge

“Full of suspense and magic, with a protagonist as sharp and tart as a lemon, Sarah Gailey has written an unmissable debut.”—Adrienne Celt, author of Invitation to a Bonfire
“I loved Sarah Gailey's Magic for Liars…it broke my heart, and I longed for the world of this story anyway.”—Kat Howard, author of An Unkindness of Magicians

“Weird and wonderful…Sarah Gailey is a writer to watch.” —Chuck Wendig, New York Times bestselling author of Star Wars: Aftermath

- Less…

Sarah Gailey

Hugo Award-winning and bestselling author Sarah Gailey is an internationally published writer of fiction and nonfiction. Their nonfiction has been published by Mashable and The Boston Globe, and they won a Hugo Award for Best Fan Writer. Their fiction credits include Vice and The Atlantic. Their debut novella, River of Teeth, was a 2018 finalist for both the Hugo and Nebula Awards. Their bestselling adult novel debut, Magic For Liars, was published in 2019.

image of Sarah Gaileyo
©Allan Amato 2019

Tor Books

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER