Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Just Like Home

Just Like Home

Sarah Gailey

Tor Books

BUY THE BOOK

Just Like Home is a darkly gothic thriller from nationally bestselling author Sarah Gailey, perfect for fans of Netflix's The Haunting of Hill House as well as HBO's true crime masterpiece I'll Be Gone in the Dark--with a twist ending that no one can predict.

Vera is used to ignorning calls from strange numbers--after all, reporters looking for a scoop on her serial killer father have been ramping up their efforts as the twenty-year anniversary of his arrest approaches. But she really shouldn't have picked up the phone this time, since now she'll have to do something she hasn't ever done: return to the house her father built.

Her childhood home is a notorious burial ground but also the heart of Vera's warm memories of her then-idolized and beloved father. Now it is a living tomb for her long-estranged, dying mother.

It's hard enough for Vera to even be there, but to make things worse, someone (or something) is stalking her, leaving creepy notes in her father's handwriting and painting fake blood all over the porch. And that's not the only unwelcome guest--a parasitical artist with delusions of granduer has moved into her mother's guest house, oozing charm and stinking of his own plans.

But there are more secrets in the foundations of the notorious Crowder House, and no one could have forseen how this last confrontation would end....

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Praise for Just Like Home

Praise for The Echo Wife:
"For those familiar with Gailey's work, expect this one to offer familiar pleasures and some new surprises. And for those who aren't, well, get ready." —Entertainment Weekly

"Creepy, exhilarating science fiction... A series of dark reveals that leave both the characters and the audience reeling. Readers won't want to put this one down." —Publisher's Weekly

Praise for Magic for Liars

“The sharpest female protagonist of the summer”—The Mary Sue

“A queerer, older, quicker-paced Harry Potter, concerned with the childhood grudges that adults can't get over.”—Refinery 29

Veronica Mars with a bit of Harry Potter” —The Nerd Daily

-

Sarah Gailey

Hugo Award-winning and bestselling author Sarah Gailey is an internationally published writer of fiction and nonfiction. Their nonfiction has been published by Mashable and The Boston Globe, and they won a Hugo Award for Best Fan Writer. Their fiction credits include Vice and The Atlantic. Their debut novella, River of Teeth, was a 2018 finalist for both the Hugo and Nebula Awards. Their bestselling adult novel debut, Magic For Liars, was published in 2019.

image of Sarah Gaileyo
©Allan Amato 2019

Tor.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS →

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER

    Tor Books

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER