Book details

The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae

Author: Stephanie Butland; read by Cathleen McCarron

The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae

The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae

About This Book

"Cathleen McCarron's lilting intonation and Scottish accent beautifully capture the quiet optimism of this heartfelt novel, set in Edinburgh." — AudioFile Magazine

For...

Genre
On Sale
11/12/2019

Book Details

"Cathleen McCarron's lilting intonation and Scottish accent beautifully capture the quiet optimism of this heartfelt novel, set in Edinburgh." — AudioFile Magazine

For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no listener will soon forget.

Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can be a normal twenty-eight-year-old. She can climb a mountain. Dance. Wait in line all day for tickets to Wimbledon.

But first, she has to put one foot in front of the other. So far, things are as bloody complicated as ever. Her relationship with her mother is at a breaking point and she wants to find her father. Then there's Lennox, whom Ailsa loved and lost. Will she ever find love again?

Her new heart is a bold heart. She just needs to learn to listen to it. From the hospital to her childhood home, on social media and IRL, Ailsa will embark on a journey about what it means to be, and feel, alive. How do we learn to be brave, to accept defeat, to dare to dream?

From Stephanie Butland, author of The Lost for Words Bookshop, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae will warm you from the inside out.

Imprint Publisher

Macmillan Audio

ISBN

9781250242174

In The News

"The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is an enchanting story of a girl whose entire life has been dictated by her medical condition. When she receives a second chance in the form of a new heart, she realizes that, for the first time, she has a future. And now she has to figure out what to do with it. Stephanie Butland has crafted a charming story of second chances, love, loss, and truly growing up in which Ailsa learns that you can’t just blog and dance your way through life—although both certainly make it sweeter. A must read for anyone who has ever been faced with a new beginning and all the joy and heartache that entails. Five huge stars for the delightful Ailsa Ray!"—Kristy Woodson Harvey, national bestselling author of Dear Carolina and Slightly South of simple

About the Creators

The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae

The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae

The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae
The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae
00:00
/
00:00