Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Too Good to Be True

Too Good to Be True

A Novel

Carola Lovering

St. Martin's Press

BUY THE BOOK

ONE LOVE STORY. TWO MARRIAGES. THREE VERSIONS OF THE TRUTH. An obsessive, addictive love story for fans of Lisa Jewell and The Wife Upstairs, from the beloved author of Tell Me Lies.

Skye Starling is overjoyed when her boyfriend, Burke Michaels, proposes after a whirlwind courtship. Though Skye seems to have the world at her fingertips—she’s smart, beautiful, and from a well-off family—she’s also battled crippling OCD ever since her mother’s death when she was eleven, and her romantic relationships have suffered as a result.

But now Burke—handsome, older, and more emotionally mature than any man she’s met before—says he wants her. Forever. Except, Burke isn’t who he claims to be. And interspersed letters to his therapist reveal the truth: he’s happily married, and using Skye for his own, deceptive ends.

In a third perspective, set thirty years earlier, a scrappy seventeen-year-old named Heather is determined to end things with Burke, a local bad boy, and make a better life for herself in New York City. But can her adolescent love stay firmly in her past—or will he find his way into her future?

On a collision course she doesn’t see coming, Skye throws herself into wedding planning, as Burke’s scheme grows ever more twisted. But of course, even the best laid plans can go astray. And just when you think you know where this story is going, you’ll discover that there’s more than one way to spin the truth.

Chapter One

Skye


MARCH 2019

Something is going on with Burke this morning. I can tell because he asks me three times how I want my eggs.

“Over easy!” I call from the bedroom. It’s how I’ve asked...

Praise for Too Good to Be True

Praise for Too Good To Be True:

One of the "27 Books To Read In 2021--Betches

One of the "36 of the Most Anticipated Mysteries and Thrillers of 2021"--Goodreads

"Lovering, a master of manipulation to rival her own characters, does a skillful job of gradually unspooling her intricate tapestry of psychological intrigue while deftly juggling her multiple narratives."
— Kirkus (starred review)

"A head-spinningly devious plot [with] a plethora of twists...psychological thriller fans will keep turning the pages to see what happens next."
Publishers Weekly

"Just when you think you’ve got it figured out, Lovering will throw another curve ball at you."
Betches

“I raced through Too Good To Be True, desperate to see what new twist was coming next. Gripping, tantalizing, and perfectly paced, Carola Lovering somehow makes duplicity sexy––and even understandable. Get ready for a wild, seductive ride.”
—Sara Shepard, New York Times bestselling author

A twisty tale of love, greed, betrayal and revenge. Addictive and unputdownable.”
—Michele Campbell, internationally bestselling author of A Stranger on the Beach

Thoroughly engrossing and beautifully crafted, Too Good To Be True mesmerizingly merges seemingly unrelated lives and expertly weaves together past and present storylines. Deliciously fraught with plot twists that keep readers compulsively turning pages, this is the type of book nightlights were invented for.”
—Erica Katz, author of The Boys’ Club

A cat an… More…

Praise for Too Good To Be True:

One of the "27 Books To Read In 2021--Betches

One of the "36 of the Most Anticipated Mysteries and Thrillers of 2021"--Goodreads

"Lovering, a master of manipulation to rival her own characters, does a skillful job of gradually unspooling her intricate tapestry of psychological intrigue while deftly juggling her multiple narratives."
— Kirkus (starred review)

"A head-spinningly devious plot [with] a plethora of twists...psychological thriller fans will keep turning the pages to see what happens next."
Publishers Weekly

"Just when you think you’ve got it figured out, Lovering will throw another curve ball at you."
Betches

“I raced through Too Good To Be True, desperate to see what new twist was coming next. Gripping, tantalizing, and perfectly paced, Carola Lovering somehow makes duplicity sexy––and even understandable. Get ready for a wild, seductive ride.”
—Sara Shepard, New York Times bestselling author

A twisty tale of love, greed, betrayal and revenge. Addictive and unputdownable.”
—Michele Campbell, internationally bestselling author of A Stranger on the Beach

Thoroughly engrossing and beautifully crafted, Too Good To Be True mesmerizingly merges seemingly unrelated lives and expertly weaves together past and present storylines. Deliciously fraught with plot twists that keep readers compulsively turning pages, this is the type of book nightlights were invented for.”
—Erica Katz, author of The Boys’ Club

A cat and mouse thriller with masterful twists. Will leave you guessing until the last page.” — Liv Constantine, international bestselling author

- Less…

Carola Lovering

Carola Lovering is the author of Tell Me Lies, and her work has appeared in W Magazine, National Geographic, Outside, and Yoga Journal, among other publications. In addition to writing, Carola teaches yoga. She graduated from Colorado College and currently lives in Connecticut

image of Carola Loveringo
Corinna Raznikov

St. Martin's Press

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER