Book details

Curdle Creek

A Novel

Author: Yvonne Battle-Felton

Curdle Creek

Curdle Creek

About This Book

Curdle Creek is a thoughtful, sinister tour-de-force.”
―Tananarive Due, L.A. Times Book Prize-winning author of The Reformatory


Welcome to...

Page Count
304
Genre
On Sale
10/15/2024

Book Details

Curdle Creek is a thoughtful, sinister tour-de-force.”
―Tananarive Due, L.A. Times Book Prize-winning author of The Reformatory


Welcome to Curdle Creek, a place just dying to make you feel at home. Osira, a forty-five-year-old widow, is an obedient follower of the strict conventions of Curdle Creek, an all-Black town in rural America stuck in the past and governed by a tradition of ominous rituals. Osira is considered blessed, but her luck changes when her children take off, she comes second to last in the Running of the Widows and her father flees when his name is called in the annual Moving On ceremony. Forced into a test of allegiance, Osira finds herself transported back in time, then into another realm where she must answer for crimes committed by Curdle Creek. Exile forces her to jump realms again, landing Osira even farther away from home, in rural England. Safe as long as she sticks to the rules, she quickly learns there are consequences for every kindness. Each jump could lead Osira anywhere but back home.

Curdle Creek is a unique, inventive novel exploring themes of home, belonging, motherhood and what we inherit from society. This American gothic offers a mash-up of the surreal and literary horror that will appeal to fans of Ring Shout, The Underground Railroad and Lovecraft Country. Yvonne Battle-Felton’s fever dream of a tale is enthralling, layered and quite unlike anything else.

Imprint Publisher

Henry Holt and Co.

ISBN

9781250362018

In The News

Curdle Creek is a thoughtful, sinister tour-de-force. Yvonne Battle-Felton writes so convincingly that the reader is forced to ponder what unthinkable choices we mask behind our own quest for belonging, and what wrongs we must answer for.”
—Tananarive Due, Los Angeles Times Book Prize-winning author of The Reformatory

“The nightmarish and allegorical Curdle Creek is a gorgeously written, surrealist folktale that goes bone deep. Compelling, thought-provoking, thrilling, haunting, Yvonne Battle-Felton's Curdle Creek is simply a marvel.”
—Paul Tremblay, bestselling author of The Cabin at the End of the World and Horror Movie

“Tautly written, utterly gripping, Yvonne Battle-Felton's novel invites the reader into a world of mystery and mythology. Ultimately, Curdle Creek is about perseverance and hope, about remembering the past while boldly embracing the future and about posing the eternal question: how and where can a Black person simply be?”
—Carolyn Ferrell, author of Dear Miss Metropolitan

About the Creators

Curdle Creek

Curdle Creek