Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Stella Díaz Dreams Big

Stella Díaz Dreams Big

Stella Diaz

Angela Dominguez

Roaring Brook Press

BUY THE BOOK

In Stella Díaz Dreams Big, by award-winning author and illustrator Angela Dominguez, how will Stella fare when the waters get rough?

Stella is happy as a clam in fourth grade. She's the president of the Sea Musketeers conservation club, she starts taking swim lessons, and she joins a new art club at school. But as her schedule fills up, school gets harder, too. Suddenly the tides have turned, and she is way too busy!

Stella will be in an ocean of trouble if she can't keep her head above water. But with her trusty Sea Musketeers by her side, she hops to make her big dreams come true!

Based on the author's experiences growing up Mexican-American, this infectiously charming character comes to life through relatable storytelling including simple Spanish vocabulary and adorable black-and-white art.

Watch

MacKids Streaming Schoolhouse: Science Class with Angela Dominguez and Maris Wicks

Join award-winning children’s book author and illustrator Angela Dominguez (Stella Diaz series) and bestselling comics author and illustrator Maris Wicks (Astronauts) for fascinating insight into their research. Come prepared to tune up your scientific knowledge about fascinating facts and the real life figures driving scientific innovation.

Praise for Stella Díaz Dreams Big

Praise for Stella Diaz Never Gives Up:

“Readers don't need familiarity with Stella Díaz Has Something To Say to fall in love with [Stella]. The protagonist will endear readers to her; she may also create some environmental converts.” —Kirkus Reviews

Praise for Stella Diaz Has Something to Say:

2019 Sid Fleischman Award winner
A 2019 ALSC Notable Children's Book
A New York Public Library Best Book for Kids 2018
One of Chicago Public Library's "Best of the Best Books 2018"

“Fans of Clementine and Alvin Ho will be delighted to meet Stella.” —School Library Journal, starred review

“Readers should easily relate to Stella, her struggle to use her voice, and the way she feels caught between worlds at school and at home.” —Publishers Weekly

“An excellent, empowering addition to middle grade collections.” —Booklist

“A nice and timely depiction of an immigrant child experience.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Readers will agree with Stella’s mother and brother that she is, as her name suggests, a star.” —The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

“A rich narrative.” —Horn Book

-

Angela Dominguez

Angela Dominguez was born in Mexico City, grew up in the great state of Texas, and now resides on the east coast. She is the author and illustrator of several books for children including Pura Belpré Illustration Honor books Maria Had a Little and Mango, Abuela, and Me written by Meg Medina. When Angela is not in her studio, she teaches at the Academy of Art University. She also enjoys presenting at different schools and libraries to all sorts of ages. Angela is a proud member of SCBWI and PEN America, and is represented by Wernick and Pratt Literary Agency. As a child, she loved reading books and making a mess creating pictures. She's delighted to still be doing both.

Roaring Brook Press

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER