Book details

Burning Roses

Author: S. L. Huang

Burning Roses

Burning Roses

$11.99

About This Book

From Hugo Award Winner S. L. Huang

"S. L. Huang is amazing."—Patrick Rothfuss


Burning Roses is a gorgeous fairy tale of love and family,...

Page Count
160
Genre
On Sale
09/29/2020

Book Details

From Hugo Award Winner S. L. Huang

"S. L. Huang is amazing."—Patrick Rothfuss


Burning Roses is a gorgeous fairy tale of love and family, of demons and lost gods, for fans of Zen Cho and Neon Yang.

Rosa, also known as Red Riding Hood, is done with wolves and woods.

Hou Yi the Archer is tired, and knows she’s past her prime.

They would both rather just be retired, but that’s not what the world has ready for them.

When deadly sunbirds begin to ravage the countryside, threatening everything they’ve both grown to love, the two must join forces. Now blessed and burdened with the hindsight of middle age, they begin a quest that’s a reckoning of sacrifices made and mistakes mourned, of choices and family and the quest for immortality.

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Imprint Publisher

Tordotcom

ISBN

9781250763983

In The News

Burning Roses by S. L. Huang is a beautiful, deeply affecting novella that braids Western fairy-tale traditions with Chinese mythology in a way calculated to mash my every emotional button.”—Amal El-Mohtar, The New York Times Book Review

“S. L. Huang delivers one of the best additions to the fairy tale genre in recent years. Burning Roses presents a compelling tale that favors change, the chance to forgive, and—universally—the desire to be forgiven.”—The Chicago Review of Books

“Huang dazzles in this dark, diverse fairy tale remix. . . . Fantasy fans won't want to miss this.”—Publishers Weekly, starred review

“The regret and wisdom of aging monster hunters, who are starting to question who was the monster in the equation anyway, make for a complex and compelling relationship. . . . Huang is clearly an author to watch.”—Booklist

“S.L. Huang's Burning Roses is a complex and thought-provoking adventure story following two middle-aged lesbians as they hunt monsters and reckon with their own monstrous pasts.”—Shelf Awareness

About the Creators

Burning Roses

Burning Roses

$11.99