Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Perfect on Paper

Perfect on Paper

A Novel

Sophie Gonzales

Wednesday Books

BUY THE BOOK

"Perfectly wonderful.” —Becky Albertalli, New York Times–bestselling author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat meets To All the Boys I've Loved Before: a bisexual girl who gives anonymous love advice to her classmates is hired by the hot guy to help him get his ex back


Her advice, spot on. Her love life, way off.

Darcy Phillips:
• Can give you the solution to any of your relationship woes—for a fee.
• Uses her power for good. Most of the time.
• Really cannot stand Alexander Brougham.
• Has maybe not the best judgement when it comes to her best friend, Brooke…who is in love with someone else.
• Does not appreciate being blackmailed.

However, when Brougham catches her in the act of collecting letters from locker 89—out of which she’s been running her questionably legal, anonymous relationship advice service—that’s exactly what happens. In exchange for keeping her secret, Darcy begrudgingly agrees to become his personal dating coach—at a generous hourly rate, at least. The goal? To help him win his ex-girlfriend back.

Darcy has a good reason to keep her identity secret. If word gets out that she’s behind the locker, some things she's not proud of will come to light, and there’s a good chance Brooke will never speak to her again.

Okay, so all she has to do is help an entitled, bratty, (annoyingly hot) guy win over a girl who’s already fallen for him once? What could go wrong?

Praise for Perfect on Paper

Praise for Perfect on Paper

“Didn’t know it was possible to pack a book with this much charm, humor, sincerity, and wisdom, but then again, it’s Sophie Gonzales. Perfect on Paper is perfectly wonderful.” —Becky Albertalli, New York Times–bestselling author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

“I devoured this book in one lovely day! Yet again Sophie has created an ensemble of empathetic characters led by a clever, relatable, sincere protagonist you’ll root for all the way through. Perfect on Paper is full of the kind of sharp wit, keen insight, and hilarious rom-com shenanigans that make it a heartfelt reminder that love may come in infinite and unexpected ways, but is still the one thing we all have in common.” —Emma Lord, author of Tweet Cute

Perfect on Paper is a perfectly-complicated love story in every way. Gonzales has gifted us with a well-intentioned and thoughtfully-complex protagonist in Darcy, whose advice is wonderfully applied not only to the questioning students she anonymously helps, but to readers as well! Full of swoons and angst and packaged carefully with heart, Perfect on Paper was a brilliant study on the complications of first loves.” —Erin Hahn, author of You’d Be Mine and More than Maybe

~~~
Praise for Sophie Gonzales's Only Mostly Devastated

Only Mostly Devastated is the kind of book I wish existed when my kids were younger—a charming, funny, laugh-out-loud teen romance that reminds all readers love comes in a multitude of … More…

Praise for Perfect on Paper

“Didn’t know it was possible to pack a book with this much charm, humor, sincerity, and wisdom, but then again, it’s Sophie Gonzales. Perfect on Paper is perfectly wonderful.” —Becky Albertalli, New York Times–bestselling author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

“I devoured this book in one lovely day! Yet again Sophie has created an ensemble of empathetic characters led by a clever, relatable, sincere protagonist you’ll root for all the way through. Perfect on Paper is full of the kind of sharp wit, keen insight, and hilarious rom-com shenanigans that make it a heartfelt reminder that love may come in infinite and unexpected ways, but is still the one thing we all have in common.” —Emma Lord, author of Tweet Cute

Perfect on Paper is a perfectly-complicated love story in every way. Gonzales has gifted us with a well-intentioned and thoughtfully-complex protagonist in Darcy, whose advice is wonderfully applied not only to the questioning students she anonymously helps, but to readers as well! Full of swoons and angst and packaged carefully with heart, Perfect on Paper was a brilliant study on the complications of first loves.” —Erin Hahn, author of You’d Be Mine and More than Maybe

~~~
Praise for Sophie Gonzales's Only Mostly Devastated

Only Mostly Devastated is the kind of book I wish existed when my kids were younger—a charming, funny, laugh-out-loud teen romance that reminds all readers love comes in a multitude of flavors, and they are ALL sweet.” —Jodi Picoult, New York Times–bestselling author of Small Great Things and A Spark of Light

“A delightful, heartwarming, heartrending story about family, love, friendship, and living your most authentic life. I couldn't put it down.” —New York Times–bestselling author Sandhya Menon

“Sweet and earnest.... A worthwhile romance for any collection.” —Booklist

“Gonzales turns in a witty, smart, credible, and irreverent contemporary romance that handles all these elements skillfully and with heart.... The power of this fun Grease retelling is that it normalizes the spectrum of sexual orientations. Recommended for all teens.” —School Library Journal

“Heartfelt and charming, Only Mostly Devastated is a touching and delightful YA contemporary romance. Highly recommend for fans of Nicola Yoon, Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, and Sick Kids In Love.” —YA Books Central

“Narrator Ollie is deeply sympathetic.... [Gonzales] gets most U.S. details right in this Grease reboot, creating an inclusive cast and giving weight to many parts of Ollie’s multifaceted life.” —Publishers Weekly

- Less…

Sophie Gonzales

SOPHIE GONZALES is a YA contemporary author. She graduated from the University of Adelaide and lives in Melbourne, Australia, where she currently works as a psychologist. When she isn’t writing, she can be found ice skating, performing in musical theater, and practicing the piano. She is also the author of Only Mostly Devastated and The Law of Inertia.

image of Sophie Gonzaleso
Melbourne Actor's Headshots