Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Sparrow Sneak Peek

Sparrow Sneak Peek

Mary Cecilia Jackson

Tor Teen

BUY THE BOOK

e-Book

In the tradition of Laurie Halse Anderson’s Speak, Mary Cecilia Jackson's devastating but hopeful YA debut Sparrow is about a ballerina who finds the courage to confront the abuse that haunts her past and threatens her future. Download a FREE sneak peek today!

There are two kinds of people on the planet. Hunters and prey.
I thought I would be safe after my mother died. I thought I could stop searching for new places to hide. But you can’t escape what you are, what you’ve always been.
My name is Savannah Darcy Rose.
And I am still prey.


Though Savannah Rose—“Sparrow” to her friends and family—is a gifted ballerina, her real talent is keeping secrets. Schooled in silence by her long-dead mother, Sparrow has always believed that her lifelong creed—“I’m not the kind of girl who tells”—will make her just like everyone else: Normal. Happy. Safe.

But in the aftermath of a brutal assault by her seemingly perfect boyfriend Tristan, Sparrow must finally find the courage to confront the ghosts of her past, or lose herself forever….

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Reviews from Goodreads

Mary Cecilia Jackson

Mary Cecilia Jackson has worked as a middle school teacher, an adjunct instructor of college freshmen, a technical writer and editor, a speechwriter, a museum docent, and a development officer for central Virginia’s PBS and NPR stations. Her first novel, Sparrow, was an honor recipient of the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators' Sue Alexander Award, and a young adult finalist in the Writers’ League of Texas manuscript contest. She lives with her architect husband, William, in Western North Carolina and Hawaii.

image of Mary Cecilia Jacksono
Richard Rives of Richard's Photography, LLC

Tor Teen

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER