Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Standing Water

Standing Water

A Short Horror Story

Come Join Us By The Fire, Volume 2 (Volume 5)

Caitlin R. Kiernan; read by Fajer Al-Kaisi

Tor Nightfire


Digital Audio


Tor Nightfire


On Sale: 03/02/2021

ISBN: 9781250811653


An impossible puddle holds unfathomable secrets.

"Standing Water" by Caitlín R. Kiernan is one of 18 short horror stories in Nightfire's audio anthology. Come Join Us by the Fire Season 2 is the second installment of Nightfire's audio horror anthology, featuring a wide collection of short stories from emerging voices in the horror genre as well as longtime fan favorites. The collection showcases the breadth of talent writing in the horror genre today, with contributions from a wide range of genre luminaries like Seanan McGuire, T. Kingfisher, and Caitlín R. Kiernan; it includes stories from Nightfire’s own Cassandra Khaw (Nothing But Blackened Teeth) and Silvia Moreno-Garcia (Certain Dark Things); and from rising stars like Nibedita Sen, Matthew Lyons, and Jessica Guess. Plus, it has Nick Antosca’s “The Quiet Boy,” soon to be a major motion picture, Antlers, starring Keri Russell.

Reviews from Goodreads

Caitlin R. Kiernan; read by Fajer Al-Kaisi

Caitlín R. Kiernan is the Bram Stoker and World Fantasy Award-winning author of over a dozen science fiction and dark fantasy works, including Agents of Dreamland, many comic books; and more than two hundred published short stories, novellas, and vignettes. They are also the author of scientific papers in the field of paleontology.

image of Caitlin R. Kiernano
Kyle Cassidy

Online Journal of Caitlin R. Kiernan