Book details

Macmillan Children's Book

All the Ruined Men

Stories

Author: Bill Glose; read by Shawn Compton

All the Ruined Men

All the Ruined Men

$19.99

About This Book

For readers of Phil Klay, Kevin Powers, and Tim O'Brien: Dramatic, powerful, authentic short stories of soldiers fighting a "forever war," in combat and back home.

Combat...

On Sale
08/02/2022

Book Details

For readers of Phil Klay, Kevin Powers, and Tim O'Brien: Dramatic, powerful, authentic short stories of soldiers fighting a "forever war," in combat and back home.

Combat takes a different toll on each soldier; so does coming home. All the Ruined Men by Bill Glose comprises linked stories that show veterans struggling for normalcy as they grapple with flashbacks, injuries (both physical and psychological), damaged relationships, loss of faith, and loss of memory. Beginning in 2003, All the Ruined Men spans ten years, from the confident beginning of America’s “forever war” to the confusion and disillusionment that followed.

As a former paratrooper and Gulf War veteran, author Bill Glose is closely bound to these stories. Drawing from his own experiences and military knowledge, Glose presents a cast of complex and sympathetic characters: young men who embraced what seemed like a war of just cause, who trained and fought and lived and died together, and who have returned to families, wives, children, civilian life, and an America that has lost its way.

Unforgettable, moving, filled with moments of anguish, doubt, love, hope, and other emotions, All the Ruined Men is a singular debut collection.

Imprint Publisher

Macmillan Audio

ISBN

9781250860415

In The News

“Through these heartfelt stories Bill Glose shatters the myth of the tight-lipped, stoic veteran.” —Will Mackin, author of Bring Out the Dog

"Brutally honest.... An important book all Americans should read to understand the fallout from twenty years of continuous war." —Brian Castner, author of The Long Walk

"Searing, evocative, masterfully told." —Mark Treanor, author of A Quiet Cadence

"This accomplished book is more than a collection of war tales. It's a reckoning." —Matt Gallagher, author of Empire City and Youngblood

"Glose rivets the reader’s attention with gritty, convincing detail...A tribute to those whose lives were wrecked by fighting in America’s longest war, All the Ruined Men is one of the most moving collections I’ve ever read." —David Poyer, author of Violent Peace and Heroes of Annapolis

About the Creators

All the Ruined Men

All the Ruined Men

$19.99