Book details

Macmillan Children's Book

A Terrible Place for a Nest

Author: Sara Levine; illustrated by Erika Meza

A Terrible Place for a Nest

A Terrible Place for a Nest

$19.99

About This Book

A child learns to settle into a new home in this lyrical and stirring picture book perfect for fans of MEMORY JARS and EVELYN DEL REY IS MOVING AWAY.
Page Count
40
On Sale
07/30/2024
Age Range
4-8

Book Details

A child learns to settle into a new home in this lyrical and stirring picture book perfect for fans of MEMORY JARS and EVELYN DEL REY IS MOVING AWAY.

Juno and his mom have just moved into a new home, and he hates everything about it - the new school, his new classmates, his new room.

Just outside his window, Juno notices a family of mourning doves have started a nest atop the fence, and they seem to be struggling to make it work, too. Sure enough, Juno concludes this new place is a terrible place to build a nest.

But, as winter turns to spring and the doves grow, so does Juno. And while this new place may be scary and sometimes lonely, they will all make it work, together.

Lyrical and hopeful, A Terrible Place for a Nest is a tender and uplifting tale about facing new experiences with empathy and courage.

Imprint Publisher

Roaring Brook Press

ISBN

9781250861221

In The News

"A feel-good ode to resilience." -- Kirkus Reviews

"
The...steady transformation that Levine traces from upset to familiarity and joy feels real and satisfying." -- Publishers Weekly

"
A reassuring story for any child coping with a difficult move." -- Horn Book Magazine

About the Creators

A Terrible Place for a Nest

A Terrible Place for a Nest

$19.99