Book details

Replay

Memoir of an Uprooted Family

Author: Jordan Mechner

Replay

Replay

$29.99

About This Book

"[A] vibrant, poignant book." —NPR Book Reviews

1914. A teenage romantic heads to the enlistment office when his idyllic life in a Jewish enclave of the Austro-Hungarian...

Page Count
320
Genre
On Sale
03/19/2024

Book Details

"[A] vibrant, poignant book." —NPR Book Reviews

1914. A teenage romantic heads to the enlistment office when his idyllic life in a Jewish enclave of the Austro-Hungarian Empire is shattered by World War I.

1938. A seven-year-old refugee begins a desperate odyssey through France, struggling to outrun the rapidly expanding Nazi regime and reunite with his family on the other side of the Atlantic.

2015. The creator of a world-famous video game franchise weighs the costs of uprooting his family and moving to France as the cracks in his marriage begin to grow.

Prince of Persia creator Jordan Mechner calls on the voices of his father and grandfather to weave a powerful story about the enduring challenge of holding a family together in the face of an ever-changing world.

Imprint Publisher

First Second

ISBN

9781250873750

In The News

"[A] vibrant, poignant book." —NPR Book Reviews

"Every work by the polymath video game designer Jordan Mechner is essentially about rewinding time, so perhaps it’s unsurprising that Replay: Memoir of an Uprooted Family braids together so many time periods so adroitly." —New York Times

"[For] those interested in video game development, and readers looking for a new take on WWII sagas." –SLJ

"This is a timely memoir that will appeal to fans of both Maus and Box Brown’s reality-based comics." –Booklist

"Fans of Maus will want to take a look." –Publishers Weekly

“Incredibly evocative... A powerful emotional experience.”
—Neil Druckmann, The Last of Us

About the Creators

Replay

Replay

$29.99