Book details

Macmillan Children's Book

The Yellow Bus

Author: Loren Long

The Yellow Bus

The Yellow Bus

About This Book

Perfect for fans of Love and Hello, Lighthouse, The Yellow Bus from #1 New York Times bestselling Loren Long is a tender and hopeful new classic about a forgotten school bus that finds happiness and purpose in the most unexpected places--and in the journey along the way.
Page Count
48
On Sale
06/25/2024
Age Range
3-6

Book Details

An Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller
An Instant Indie Bestseller

Perfect for fans of Love and Hello, Lighthouse, The Yellow Bus from #1 New York Times bestselling Loren Long is a tender and hopeful new classic about a forgotten school bus that finds happiness and purpose in the most unexpected places--and in the journey along the way.


There is a bright yellow bus who spends her days driving. She loves carrying children from one important place to another. Every morning they climb in... Pitter-patter, pitter-patter, giggle, giggle-patter. And they fill her with joy.

As time passes, things change. The Yellow Bus gets a new driver, a new route, and new passengers, young and old. Until one day the driving stops for good, and the Yellow Bus is left on her own. And yet, no matter where she is, the Yellow Bus still finds joy and discovery in the world around her.

With stirring black-and-white artwork and powerful pops of color, The Yellow Bus is a poignant reflection on the many new beginnings life has to offer.

Imprint Publisher

Roaring Brook Press

ISBN

9781250903136

Reading Guide

In The News

Praise for The Yellow Bus

An Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller
An Instant Indie Bestseller

Three Starred Reviews

★ "A must-purchase, this book will leave readers looking at objects around them differently long after its covers are closed." — School Library Journal, starred review

★ "A moving contemplation on the passage of time, The Yellow Bus skillfully drives home the joys of a well-lived life of purpose." — Booklist, starred review

★ "All kids will benefit from the added introspection of the seemingly mundane in the world around them." — BCCB, starred review

"A steady paean to time’s passing and the pleasures found along the way." — Kirkus Reviews

"A saga that paves way for discussions about utility and repurposing, social and structural priorities, change over time, and more." — Publishers Weekly

"
A meditation on the passage of time while finding purpose in all seasons of life." — Horn Book Magazine

“A memorable picture book that’s likely to become another modern classic.” — Book Riot

“There’s a long tradition in children’s literature of relating how a creature or object changes hands and purposes over many years. The distinguished illustrator Loren Long adds to the genre with The Yellow Bus.” — The Wall Street Journal

“An instant classic!” – Colby Sharp

“This is a tour de force - bravo!” – Cathy Berner, Blue Willow Bookshop

About the Creators

The Yellow Bus

The Yellow Bus