Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group


A Riley Bloom Book (Volume 1)

Alyson Noël; Read by Kathleen McInerney

Macmillan Young Listeners



Macmillan Young Listeners

Macmillan Audio

On Sale: 08/31/2010

ISBN: 9781427210661


Riley has crossed the bridge into the afterlife—a place called Here, where time is always Now. She has picked up life where she left off when she was alive, living with her parents and dog in a nice house in a nice neighborhood. When she's summoned before The Council, she learns that the afterlife isn't just an eternity of leisure. She's been assigned a job, Soul Catcher, and a teacher, Bodhi, a possibly cute, seemingly nerdy boy who's definitely hiding something. They return to earth together for Riley's first assignment, a Radiant Boy who's been haunting a castle in England for centuries. Many Soul Catchers have tried to get him to cross the bridge and failed. But all of that was before he met Riley .

Radiance is the first book in the Riley Bloom series from bestselling author Alyson Noël.

Praise for Radiance

“…Noel uses a light hand and fills her story with humor and liveliness…the 4-hour audiobook is read by Kathleen McInerney in a youthful, endearing style that meshes well with the author's words. This is a good choice for interested pre-teens and up.” —Parents' Choice, winner of the Parents' Choice Approved Award

“Kathleen McInerney takes on the job of portraying Riley beautifully. She has a young, inquisitive quality to her voice that truly brings Riley to life…Listening to Riley's trials and errors is definitely a treat for the ears.” —

“Narrator Kathleen McInerney is perfectly cast as Riley Bloom…A brief and enjoyable audio that will leave listeners wanting more of Riley.” —

“Young listeners will surely enjoy exploring the afterlife through the eyes of Riley…This is a very promising first title in a new series.” —Through the Looking Glass Children's Book Reviews

“This audio version is excellent.” —

“Narrator Kathleen McInerney does a good job of depicting a wonderfully spunky, funny curious, sarcastic girl who thinks she knows it all…This exciting story includes a great mix of likeable characters, witty dialogue, humor, a developing boy-girl relationship, scary ghosts, danger, and a most satisfying conclusion.” —School Library Journal

Alyson Noël; Read by Kathleen McInerney

Alyson Noël is the #1 New York Times bestselling, award-winning author of Saving Zoë, Faking 19, Laguna Cove, Kiss & Blog, and Cruel Summer; the Immortals series and its spin-off Riley Bloom series; and the Soul Seekers series. Her books have won awards including the National Reader's Choice Award and have appeared on Seventeen Magazine's "Hot List" and Beach Book Club Pick.

Kathleen McInerney has narrated audiobooks by bestselling authors such as Emily Giffin, Danielle Steel, Mary Kay Andrews, and Linda Castillo. Her narration of Just One Day by Gayle Forman won an AudioFile Earphones Award.

The Immortals Series on Facebook