Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Nameless Day

The Nameless Day

Book One of 'The Crucible'

Crucible (Volume 1)

Sara Douglass

Tor Books



The Black Plague. The Pestilence. Disease and death haunt every town and village across 14th century Europe and none are immune from its evil. Some see the devastation of their world as a sign from God for Man's wickedness.

But Brother Thomas Neville sees this swath of death as something much more. Neville is a man beset by demons. Or is it angels? He has had a visitation from none other than the Archangel Michael, who commands Thomas to a mission. This mission will take Neville across the length and breath of the continent in a desperate bid to find the means to stop the minions of Satan who have found a doorway out of Hell and are preparing to venture forth, to try and seize this world in preparation for an assault on Heaven itself.

As Thomas Neville encounters angels and demons, saints and witches, he comes to realize that the armies of God and Satan are arraying themselves for the final battle...and that his soul is to be the battleground.

The question is, has Neville picked the truly good side?

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.


The Friday after Plow Monday
In the forty-ninth year of the reign of Edward III
(16th January 1377)

A DRIBBLE OF RED WINE ran down Gerardo's stubbled chin, and he reluctantly—and somewhat...

Praise for The Nameless Day

“Douglass has again brilliantly blended detailed research with religion and magic to reinterpret actual historical events.... This captivating historical fantasy ranks with the best in the subgenre.” —Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)

“Rising fantasy star Douglass pens her best book yet.” —Romantic Times Book Review (Top Pick!)

“Captivatingly written, this first installment of a planned trilogy should win fans of fantasy and historical fiction alike.” —Library Journal

“This powerfully written tale belongs in every fantasy collection and has strong appeal for fans of historical fiction.” —Library Journal


Reviews from Goodreads

Sara Douglass

Sara Douglass (1957-2011) was Australia’s leading fantasy author and one of its top novelists, earning two Aurealis Awards. Her beloved series include Wayfarer Redemption (including the award winning Enchanter and Starman), The Troy Game (beginning with Hades’ Daughter) and Crucible (with award winner The Wounded Hawk). Her standalone novels include Beyond the Hanging Wall and Threshold.

image of Sara Douglasso
Rob Watson/Creative Image

Sara Douglass


    Latest on Facebook


    Tor Books

    Latest on Facebook