Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Lantern Bearers

The Lantern Bearers

The Roman Britain Trilogy (Volume 3)

Rosemary Sutcliff

Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)


Rosemary Sutcliff's The Lantern Bearers is the winner of the 1959 Carnegie Medal in Literature.

The last of the Roman army have set sail and left Britain forever, abandoning it to civil war and the threat of a Saxon invasion. Aquila, a young Legionnaire, deserted his regiment to stay behind with his family, but his home and all that he loves are destroyed. Years of hardship and fighting follow, and in the end, there is only one thing left in Aquila's life—his thirst for revenge . . .

ALA Notable Children's Books, Carnegie Medal, American Library Association Notable Children's Books

Chapter 1

Aquila halted on the edge of the hanging woods, looking down. Below him he could see the farmstead under the great, bare swell of the downs; the russet-roofed huddle of buildings, the orchard behind, making a darker pattern on the...

Praise for The Lantern Bearers

“A spellbinding historical adventure.” —Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books -

Reviews from Goodreads

Rosemary Sutcliff

ROSEMARY SUTCLIFF is the author of 50 historical novels for children. The third book in the Roman Britain trilogy, The Lantern Bearers, won the Carnegie Medal in 1959, and Tristan and Iseult was a runner up in 1972. She also won the first Phoenix Award in 1985 for The Mark of the Horse Lord and the most recent in 2010 for The Shining Company. Rosemary Sutcliff received an OBE (Officer of the British Empire) for services to Children's Literature in 1975 and in 1993, the year after her death, was promoted to CBE (Commander of the British Empire).

Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)

Latest on Facebook