Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Silver Branch

The Silver Branch

The Roman Britain Trilogy (Volume 2)

Rosemary Sutcliff

Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)


Rosemary Sutcliff’s Carnegie Medal-winning Roman Britain Trilogy continues more than a century after the events of The Eagle of the Ninth (The Eagle) in The Silver Branch as two cousins join the Roman side in the fight against a tyrannical British emperor.

Violence and unrest are sweeping through Roman Britain. Justin and Flavius find themselves caught up in the middle of it all when they discover a plot to overthrow the Emperor. In fear for their lives, they gather together a tattered band of men and lead them into the thick of battle, to defend the honor of Rome. But will they be in time to save the Emperor…

Carnegie Medal

The Saxon Shore
On a blustery autumn day a galley was nosing up the wide loop of a British river that widened into the harbour of Rutupiae.

The tide was low, and the mud-banks at either hand that would be covered at high tide were...

Praise for The Silver Branch

“Superb...Enthusiastically recommended.” —The Horn Book -

Reviews from Goodreads

Rosemary Sutcliff

ROSEMARY SUTCLIFF is the author of 50 historical novels for children. The third book in the Roman Britain trilogy, The Lantern Bearers, won the Carnegie Medal in 1959, and Tristan and Iseult was a runner up in 1972. She also won the first Phoenix Award in 1985 for The Mark of the Horse Lord and the most recent in 2010 for The Shining Company. Rosemary Sutcliff received an OBE (Officer of the British Empire) for services to Children's Literature in 1975 and in 1993, the year after her death, was promoted to CBE (Commander of the British Empire).

Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)

Latest on Facebook