Book details

Trio of Sorcery

Arcanum 101, Drums, and Ghost in the Machine

Author: Mercedes Lackey

Trio of Sorcery

Trio of Sorcery

$11.99

About This Book

Three short urban fantasy novels from Mercedes Lackey, featuring Diana Tregarde, Jennifer Talldeer, and Ellen McBride. Witchcraft, sorcery, ghosts, supernatural creatures, death, destruction, and magic abound in these fast-paced, entertaining contemporary fantasies.

Page Count
352
Genre
On Sale
11/09/2010

Book Details

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Mercedes Lackey presents Trio of Sorcery, three exciting short urban fantasy novels featuring three resourceful heroines and three different takes on the modern world and on magics both modern and ancient.

Arcanum 101: Diana Tregarde, practicing witch, romance novelist, Guardian of the Earth. Studying at Harvard, Diana is approached by Joe O'Brian, a young cop who has already seen more than one unusual thing during his budding career. The distraught mother of a kidnap victim is taking advice from a "psychic" and interfering in the police investigation. Will Diana prove that the psychic is a fake? Unfortunately, the psychic is not a fake, but a very wicked witch--and the child's kidnapper.

Drums: Jennifer Talldeer, shaman, private investigator, member of the Osage tribe. Most of Jennie's work is regular PI stuff, but Nathan Begay brings her a problem she's never seen before. His girlfriend, Caroline, is Chickasaw to his Navaho, but that's not the problem. Somehow, Caroline has attracted the attention of an angry Osage ghost. Thwarted in love while alive, the ghost has chosen Caroline to be his bride in death.

Ghost in the Machine: Ellen McBride: computer programmer extraordinaire, techno-shaman. The programmers and players of a new MMORPG find that the game's "boss," a wendigo, is "killing" everyone--even the programmers' characters with their god-like powers. A brilliant debugger, Ellen discovers that the massive computing power of the game's servers have created a breach between the supernatural world and our own. This wendigo isn't a bit of code, it's the real thing . . . and it's on the brink of breaking out of the computers and into the real world.

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Imprint Publisher

Tor Books

ISBN

9781429989183

In The News

“An occult fantasy/mystery sure to grab the teenage crowd! The teenage characters, love triangles, and action will hook the reader immediately. The plot weaves a magic spell of its own. This is a hard one to put down, and readers will clamor for the rest of the series.” —Booklist on Jinx High

“Private investigator Jennifer Talldeer is bright, good looking, and a shaman--an unbeatable combination when delving into a world of crime, intrigue, and Indian mysticism. In the tradition of Hillerman and Grafton . . . a riveting mystery and a brave and capable sleuth along with mysticism and Indian lore.” —Kliatt on Sacred Ground

About the Creators

Trio of Sorcery

Trio of Sorcery

$11.99