Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Bully Bug

The Bully Bug

A Monsterrific Tale

Monsterrific Tales

David Lubar



The Bully Bug is the sixth standalone tale in the hilarious Monsterrific Tales series for young readers by acclaimed author David Lubar. The Monsterrific Tales series began with Hyde and Shriek, a Kids' Indie Next list selection, and is sure to appeal to reluctant readers and fans of Lubar's short stories collections.

There's something strange going on at Washington Irving Elementary School. Kids are turning into monsters—literally!
Lud Mellon gets bitten by a bevy of bugs in his basement and the next thing he knows, he's crawling up walls, drooling on his food, and rolling around in garbage. Turning into a giant insect seems fun at first, almost like having superpowers. But when his dad calls in the exterminators, Lud has to figure out how to stop his transformation before he gets squashed like a bug.
"This book will talk itself right off the shelves, and reluctant readers will devour it."—School Library Journal on The Curse of the Campfire Weenies

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.



Bud found the box of cereal. If I'd found it, none of this would have happened. I'm smarter than Bud. He stayed back twice. I only got kept back once. But with him staying back twice, we ended...

Praise for The Bully Bug

“Lubar kicks off his six-book series of kids-as-monsters tales with an uncomplicated meditation on good vs. evil that riffs on Jekyll and Hyde…. Fans of Lubar's Nathan Abercrombie zombie series will find much to like here.” —Kirkus Reviews on Hyde and Shriek

“Lubar puts the emphasis on comedy, not chills, in a story that slots nicely between The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde and Miss Nelson Is Missing!” —Publishers Weekly on Hyde and Shriek

“David Lubar has absolutely nailed what kids in fourth to six grade hanker for--a really funny short book.” —Kids Book Review on Hyde and Shriek


Reviews from Goodreads

David Lubar

DAVID LUBAR created a sensation with his debut novel, Hidden Talents, an American Library Association Best Book for Young Adults. He is also the author of the Nathan Abercrombie series, True Talents, Flip, and many short story collections including: In the Land of the Lawn Weenies, Invasion of the Road Weenies, The Curse of the Campfire Weenies, The Battle of the Red Hot Pepper Weenies, Attack of the Vampire Weenies, Beware the Ninja Weenies, Wipeout of the Wireless Weenies, and Extremities, an American Library Association Quick Pick for Reluctant Young Adult Readers. He lives in Nazareth, Pennsylvania.

image of David Lubaro
Joelle Lubar


Latest on Facebook