Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Death Wears a Mask

Death Wears a Mask

An Amory Ames Mystery

An Amory Ames Mystery (Volume 2)

Ashley Weaver

Minotaur Books

BUY THE BOOK

Edgar Award-shortlisted author Ashley Weaver returns with Death Wears a Mask, the witty and stylish next installment in the delightful 1930s Amory Ames mystery series

“Amory Ames and her rakish husband Milo might just be the new Nick and Nora Charles.” —Deborah Crombie

It was amazing, really, what murder had done for my marriage . . .

Following the murderous events at the Brightwell Hotel, Amory Ames is looking forward to a tranquil period of reconnecting with her reformed playboy husband, Milo. She hopes a quiet stay at their London flat will help mend their relationship. However, Amory soon finds herself drawn into another investigation when an old friend of her mother’s asks her to look into the disappearance of valuable jewelry snatched at a dinner party.

Amory agrees to help lay a trap to catch the culprit at a lavish masked ball. But when one of the illustrious party guests is murdered, she is pulled back into the world of detection, caught up in both a mystery and a set of romantic entanglements where nothing is as it seems.

Also out now in the Amory Ames mysteries: Murder at the Brightwell and A Most Novel Revenge

1



LONDON, AUGUST 1932

IT WAS AMAZING, really, what murder had done for my marriage.

Not that I wished to speak flippantly of such tragedy, of course, but I couldn't help but marvel at the way in which a brush with...

Praise for Death Wears a Mask

“This debut novel by a librarian lays the foundation for a stylish series with Milo and Amory channeling Nick and Nora Charles.” —Booklist on Murder at the Brightwell

“Fans of plucky female amateur sleuths will welcome Amory Ames, the heroine of Weaver's pleasing debut set in 1932 England... the affable Amory could carry a series.” —Publishers Weekly on Murder at the Brightwell

“A spunky heroine, a tense romance and red herrings galore make Weaver's debut a pleasant read for nostalgia buffs who miss Agatha Christie.” —Kirkus Reviews on Murder at the Brightwell

“Lovers of Agatha Christie and Jacqueline Winspear will enjoy this elegant murder mystery set on holiday at the English seaside. What starts out as a lark, intended to make Amory Ames's misbehaving-but-oh-so-delicious husband jealous, turns into a dangerous and deadly game of whodunit for Amory and her friends. Love, jealousy, and revenge are tangled together in this smart and sophisticated British mystery reminiscent of the genre's golden age.” —October 2014 LibraryReads List on Murder at the Brightwell

Murder at the Brightwell is an elegant Christie-esque 1930s romp that will delight fans of Rhys Bowen's Lady Georgie series with its wit, charm, and strong independent heroine. With its dash of romance, Amory Ames and her rakish husband Milo might just be the new Nick and Nora Charles.” —Deborah Crombie, New York Times bestselling author of To Dwell in Darkness, on Murder at the Brightwell

“I… More…

“This debut novel by a librarian lays the foundation for a stylish series with Milo and Amory channeling Nick and Nora Charles.” —Booklist on Murder at the Brightwell

“Fans of plucky female amateur sleuths will welcome Amory Ames, the heroine of Weaver's pleasing debut set in 1932 England... the affable Amory could carry a series.” —Publishers Weekly on Murder at the Brightwell

“A spunky heroine, a tense romance and red herrings galore make Weaver's debut a pleasant read for nostalgia buffs who miss Agatha Christie.” —Kirkus Reviews on Murder at the Brightwell

“Lovers of Agatha Christie and Jacqueline Winspear will enjoy this elegant murder mystery set on holiday at the English seaside. What starts out as a lark, intended to make Amory Ames's misbehaving-but-oh-so-delicious husband jealous, turns into a dangerous and deadly game of whodunit for Amory and her friends. Love, jealousy, and revenge are tangled together in this smart and sophisticated British mystery reminiscent of the genre's golden age.” —October 2014 LibraryReads List on Murder at the Brightwell

Murder at the Brightwell is an elegant Christie-esque 1930s romp that will delight fans of Rhys Bowen's Lady Georgie series with its wit, charm, and strong independent heroine. With its dash of romance, Amory Ames and her rakish husband Milo might just be the new Nick and Nora Charles.” —Deborah Crombie, New York Times bestselling author of To Dwell in Darkness, on Murder at the Brightwell

“If you love Downton Abbey, you'll adore Ashley Weaver's charming debut novel, set amidst the upper-crust of British society at a posh seaside resort in the 1930s. There are handsome cads, gorgeous gowns, and red herrings galore as our winsome heroine Amory Ames puts all the clues together to find the murderer--as well as love.” —Susan Elia MacNeal, New York Times-bestselling author of the Barry Award-winning Maggie Hope series, on Murder at the Brightwell

“A charming mystery including all my favorite elements--a grand seaside hotel in 1930s England with a background love story.” —Rhys Bowen, New York Times bestselling author of the Molly Murphy and Royal Spyness mysteries, on Murder at the Brightwell

“Ashley Weaver's debut novel delivers the goods--an appealing heroine, an abundance of suspects and enough red herrings to satisfy the most demanding of readers--all rendered with an expert hand.” —Carol K. Carr, national bestselling author of the Madame of Espionage mysteries, on Murder at the Brightwell

“A witty and charming debut mystery with a believably spunky sleuth and a compelling story of love that never runs smoothly. I was caught up by the author's subtle humor and gift for dialogue. I hope we see more of Amory Ames in the future.” G.M. Malliet, Agatha Award-winning author of the St. Just and Max Tudor mysteries, on Murder at the Brightwell

“An engaging mystery that kept me guessing right up to the end. I especially enjoyed the playful and at times snarky banter between Amory and Milo, which had me rooting for them not only to solve the murder, but to realize how perfect they are for each other. I hope they will continue on in the vein of Nick and Nora Charles, for I would happily follow them on the trail of future mysteries!” —Jennifer Delamere, author of An Heiress at Heart, on Murder at the Brightwell

“A posh hotel that specializes in good wines, fine foods, and servants that cater to every whim in this charming period piece will appeal to Downton Abbey fans.” —Odine H. Cogdill, Fisher Island Magazine, on Murder at the Brightwell

- Less…

Reviews from Goodreads

Ashley Weaver

ASHLEY WEAVER is the Technical Services Coordinator at the Allen Parish Libraries in Oberlin, Louisiana. Weaver has worked in libraries since she was 14; she was a page and then a clerk before obtaining her MLIS from Louisiana State University. She is the author of Murder at the Brightwell, Death Wears a Mask, and A Most Novel Revenge. Weaver lives in Oakdale, Louisiana.

Criminalelement.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS →

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER

    Minotaur Books

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER