Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Charles Lenox Series, Books 4-6

The Charles Lenox Series, Books 4-6

A Stranger in Mayfair, A Burial at Sea, A Death in the Small Hours

Charles Lenox Mysteries

Charles Finch

Minotaur Books


e-Book Bundle

"The upper-class amateur sleuth is very much alive in Charles Finch's charming Victorian whodunits." -The New York Times Book Review

In this critically-acclaimed, Agatha-Award nominated series, gentleman sleuth Charles Lenox investigates in the grand tradition of Sherlock Holmes and Lord Peter Wimsey. Here together for the first time in one eBook bundle are these three terrific titles:

A Stranger in Mayfair
Charles Lenox tries to resist the lure of a case and focus on his new career in Parliament. As the strange details of one family's complicated history are discovered, however, he finds himself pulled back into detective work-perhaps just in time to save another life.

A Burial at Sea
Charles Lenox, Member of Parliament, sets sail on a clandestine mission for the government. When an officer is savagely murdered, however, Lenox is drawn toward his old profession, determined to capture another killer.

A Death in the Small Hours
Lenox retires to his uncle's estate, Somerset, in the expectation of a few calm weeks to write an important speech. When he arrives in the quiet village of Plumley, however, what greets him is a series of strange vandalisms upon the local shops. Only when a far more serious crime is committed does he begin to understand the great stakes of those events, and the complex and sinister mind that is wreaking fear and suspicion in Plumley.

Praise for The Charles Lenox Series, Books 4-6

“Superb . . . Boasting one of Finch's tightest and trickiest plots, this installment further establishes Lenox as a worthy heir to the aristocratic mantle of Lord Peter Wimsey.” —Publishers Weekly (starred) on A Death in the Small Hours

“The sixth in Finch's steadily improving series develops the congenial continuing characters further while providing quite a decent mystery.” —Kirkus Reviews on A Death in the Small Hours

“A rousing nautical adventure…. Charles Lenox [is] the gentleman sleuth in this beguiling series…. Finch's descriptions of life at sea are so fascinating it's a shame Lenox must bring this case to an end.” —Marilyn Stasio, New York Times Book Review

“The murder mystery that Finch weaves keeps readers guessing as Lenox must figure out how--and why--the killings are accomplished. . . . an intriguing read on several levels.” —Mary Foster, The Associated Press

“Much of the fun comes from watching Finch channel Patrick O'Brian (Master and Commander) as his landlubber hero finds his sea legs. You'll feel the spray in your face and worry, like the lovely Lady Jane back in England, that Lenox makes it safely home for book six--and the arrival of a new member of the family.” —McClurg, USA Today


Reviews from Goodreads

Charles Finch

CHARLES FINCH is the author of the bestselling and critically acclaimed Charles Lenox mysteries. His first contemporary novel, The Last Enchantments, was published in 2014 by St. Martin's Press. Finch is a graduate of Yale and Oxford, and lives in Chicago.

image of Charles Fincho
Timothy Greenfield-Sanders

Charles Finch



    Latest on Facebook


    Minotaur Books

    Latest on Facebook