Book details

Jane Against the World

Roe v. Wade and the Fight for Reproductive Rights

Author: Karen Blumenthal

Jane Against the World

Jane Against the World

$19.99

About This Book

From award-winning author Karen Blumenthal, Jane Against the World takes a deep and passionate look at the riveting history of the fight for reproductive rights in the United States—and...

Page Count
400
On Sale
02/25/2020

Book Details

From award-winning author Karen Blumenthal, Jane Against the World takes a deep and passionate look at the riveting history of the fight for reproductive rights in the United States—and how Roe v. Wade was only the beginning.

As the decision of Roe v. Wade continues to be challenged, the fight for reproductive rights is becoming more and more urgent—making Blumenthal’s eye-opening work even more crucial. Tracing the path to the landmark decision in Roe v. Wade and the continuing battle for women's rights, Blumenthal examines, in a straightforward tone, the root causes of the current debate around abortion and repercussions that have affected generations of American women.

This revealing book is the perfect tool to facilitate difficult discussions and awareness of a topic that is rarely touched on in school but affects each and every young person. It's also perfect for fans of Steve Sheinkin and Deborah Heiligman.

This journalistic look at the history of abortion and the landmark case of Roe v. Wade is an important and necessary book.

Imprint Publisher

Roaring Brook Press

ISBN

9781626721654

In The News

"Jane Against the World reads, at times, like a legal thriller. I kept reminding myself, “Wait, I know how this ends."...Blumenthal has done her job well: presenting the history, and leaving readers to wrestle with what the future may hold for families facing unwanted pregnancies."—The New York Times



*"An account of the tumultuous struggle for abortion rights in the United States...Gripping reading; necessary for every library serving teens."—Kirkus Reviews, starred review


*"This essential guide, which gives voices to vulnerable populations, demands to be heard."—Booklist, starred review



"
An excellent purchase for public and high school nonfiction collections."—School Library Journal

"
Blumenthal’s impeccable research is revealed in the extensive back matter (including documentation, a subject bibliography, a timeline, and a glossary) that completes this compelling book."—The Horn Book

"
Written in clear, accessible language, as lively as it is thorough, the book presents the issue as far more nuanced and complex than the often sharply divided “pro-choice” and “pro-life” stances it is often boiled down to."—Publishers Weekly

About the Creators

Jane Against the World

Jane Against the World

$19.99