Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group

Fire and Ice

In Michael Ridpath’s Fire and Ice series, beginning with the novel Where the Shadows Lie, Boston-raised detective Magnus Jonson is on loan to the Icelandic Police Force for his own protection after a Massachusetts drug cartel puts a bounty on his head. His unorthodox investigative technique soon gets him into trouble with his more traditional superiors, intensifying his mixed feelings about returning to his native country—a place of tangled family loyalties haunted by his father’s unsolved murder—after nearly two decades. And as Magnus is about to discover, the past casts a long shadow in Iceland. Binding Iceland’s landscape and history, secrets and superstitions, Fire and Ice is a heart-pounding  mystery series.

Books in this Series

Far North

Far North

Fire and Ice (Volume 2)
Michael Ridpath
St. Martin's Press

"International thriller writing at its best, fine characters, page turning suspense and a great, fresh location." --Peter James, #1 international bestselling author of Dead Man's Grip

Avaliable in:


About the author

Michael Ridpath

MICHAEL RIDPATH is the bestselling author of eight financial thrillers and has been published in thirty-eight languages. His books include Far North and Where the Shadows Lie. He lives in north London with his wife and three children.