Of Irish Blood


Mary Pat Kelly

About this Series

Bestselling Irish-American author Mary Pat Kelly draws upon family heritage in her remarkable historical fiction series Of Irish Blood. The first book, Galway Bay 1832-1893, tells the story of how Honora Keely Kelly escapes from the Great Starvation of 1840s Ireland and brings her five children to the hardscrabble town of Chicago. Of Irish Blood 1893-1922 follows her American born granddaughter to Paris, then into the Irish War of Independence. The saga continues in Irish Above All, which takes the Kellys to the height of political power and influence as Honora’s grandson Ed becomes Mayor Of Chicago and creates the political machine instrumental in the election of John F Kennedy.

Mary Pat Kelly‘s trilogy of historical fiction uses her own family history to evoke the tragedies and triumph of the Irish American experience.

“What sets it apart from other novels about the Irish War of Independence is its feisty character development, feminist viewpoint, and excellent writing. It will have wide appeal to readers of both Irish history and historical novels, as well as those wishing to sink their teeth into a really good story.”—Library Journal

About the Author

About the Author