Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group

The Bounceback

L. X. Beckett offers up a new spin on near-future science fiction in this series set on a high-tech Earth that has clawed its way back from environmental collapse and is now on the brink of a technological revolution.

Rubi Whiting is part of the Bounceback Generation, the first raised in the stable wake of the twenty-first century’s ecological and economic disasters and subsequent restorations. A newly-minted lawyer, Rubi’s first client is the controversial firebrand Luciano Pox, who may be a human hacker mastermind, a rogue AI, a manifestation of the singularity, or even an alien scout scoping out the solar system’s real estate. Whatever he is could have profound consequences in the hyper-realistic virtual reality world where Rubi is a celebrity gamer, and in the real world, which is about to exponentially expand its horizons.

 

“Packed with cool ideas, psychological intrigue, political conspiracy, and hard-won hope.” –Annalee Newitz, author of Autonomous, on Gamechanger

“This delightful pinball machine of a book recalls the whiz-bang joy and gleeful innovation of Neal Stephenson’s Snow Crash.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review of Gamechanger

  • Dealbreaker
    g
    • Dealbreaker

    • The Bounceback (Volume 2)
      L. X. Beckett
      Tor/Forge

    • L. X. Beckett's Dealbreaker is the thrilling sci-fi sequel to Gamechanger, perfect for fans of Neuromancer and Star Trek

      Rubi Whiting...

      • Available in:

      • Physical Book
      • eBook
  • Gamechanger
    g
    • Gamechanger

    • The Bounceback (Volume 1)
      L. X. Beckett
      Tor/Forge

    • Neuromancer meets Star Trek in Gamechanger, a fantastic new book from award-winning author L. X. Beckett.

      First there was the Setback.

      • Available in:

      • Physical Book
      • Audio Book
      • eBook

L. X. Beckett

Toronto author and editor L. X. Beckett frittered their misbegotten youth working as an actor and theater technician in Southern Alberta, before deciding to make a shift into writing science fiction. Their first novella, “Freezing Rain, a Chance of Falling,” was published in the Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction in 2018, and takes place in the same universe as Gamechanger and Dealbreaker. Lex identifies as feminist, lesbian, genderqueer, married, and Slytherin, and can be found on Twitter or at a writing advice blog, the Lexicon.