Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group

The Centenal Cycle

In Malka Older’s Centenal Cycle, a series of cyberpunk technothrillers beginning with Infomocracy, Information (think Google on steroids) balances the paradoxes of a global micro-democracy. Mishima and Ken face election fraud, man-made and natural disasters, and deadly espionage from powerful rogue governments, while kindling a romance. For fans of The West Wing, Person of Interest and Mr. Robot. The reviewers said this of the first novel in the series, Infomocracy:
“Kinetic and gripping, the plot hurtles toward an electoral climax that leaps off the page.” –NPR; “Futurists and politics geeks will love this unreservedly.” –The New York Times Review of Books; “This brilliant book is unquestionably one of the greatest literary debuts in recent history.” –The Huffington Post; “A frighteningly relevant exploration of how the flow of information can manipulate public opinion…timely and perhaps timeless.” –Kirkus Starred Review; “A fast-paced, post-cyberpunk political thriller… If you always wanted to put West Wing Aaron Sorkin in a particle accelerator with Snow Crash to see what would happen, read this book.” –Max Gladstone, author of Last First Snow

  • State Tectonics
    g
    • State Tectonics

    • The Centenal Cycle (Volume 3)
      Malka Older
      Tor/Forge

    • One of the best books of 2018, according to Kirkus Reviews, the Chicago Review of Books, and BookRiot.

      Campbell Award finalist...

      • Available in:

      • Physical Book
      • Audio Book
      • eBook
  • Null States
    g
    • Null States

    • The Centenal Cycle (Volume 2)
      Malka Older
      Tor/Forge

    • Null States continues Campbell Award finalist Malka Older's Centenal Cycle, the near-future science fiction trilogy beginning with Infomocracy.

      The future...

      • Available in:

      • Physical Book
      • Audio Book
      • eBook
  • Infomocracy
    g
    • Infomocracy

    • The Centenal Cycle (Volume 1)
      Malka Older
      Tor/Forge

    • Read Infomocracy, the first book in Campbell Award finalist Malka Older's groundbreaking cyberpunk political thriller series The Centenal Cycle, a finalist for the Hugo Award for...

      • Available in:

      • Physical Book
      • Audio Book
      • eBook

Malka Older

MALKA OLDER is a writer, aid worker, and sociologist. Her science-fiction political thriller Infomocracy was named one of the best books of 2016 by Kirkus, Book Riot, and the Washington Post. The Centenal Cycle trilogy, which also includes Null States (2017) and State Tectonics (2018), is a finalist for the Hugo Best Series Award of 2018. She is also the creator of the serial Ninth Step Station, currently running on Serial Box, and her short story collection And Other Disasters will come out in December 2019. Named Senior Fellow for Technology and Risk at the Carnegie Council for Ethics in International Affairs for 2015, she has more than a decade of field experience in humanitarian aid and development. Her doctoral work on the sociology of organizations at Sciences Po Paris explores the dynamics of post-disaster improvisation in governments.

Malka Older