Skip to main content
US Macmillan Tradebooks for Courses

I Found My Friends

The Oral History of Nirvana

Nick Soulsby

St. Martin's Griffin

I Found My Friends Download image

ISBN10: 1250061520
ISBN13: 9781250061522

Trade Paperback

368 Pages

$22.99

CA$29.99

Request Desk Copy
Request Exam Copy

TRADE BOOKS FOR COURSES NEWSLETTER

Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

I Found My Friends re-creates the story of Nirvana, from its earliest days in 1987 to its sudden end seven years later, through the words of the musicians and producers who played and interacted with the band. Nick Soulsby interviewed over 200 musicians from bands that played and toured with Nirvana, including well-known alternative bands such as Hole, Mudhoney, Meat Puppets, Buzzcocks, Butthole Surfers, and the Jesus Lizard, as well as countless others from the alternative rock revolution. Readers get a more personal history of Nirvana than ever before, including Nirvana's consideration of nearly a dozen previously unmentioned candidates for drummer before settling on David Grohl; a recounting of Nirvana's famously disastrous South American shows from never-before-heard sources; and recollections from their first manager, who hosted the band's first ever gig.

I Found My Friends relives Nirvana's meteoric rise from the days before the legend through their increasingly damaged superstardom. More than twenty years after Kurt Cobain's tragic death, Soulsby removes the posthumous halo from the brow of Kurt Cobain and travels back through time to observe one of rock and roll's most critical bands.

Reviews

Praise for I Found My Friends

“[T]his history is captivating enough to distinguish itself among the crowded canon. Hard-core and casual Nirvana fans alike will find this book engaging.”Library Journal

“Nick…demonstrates true passion for the music and a deep understanding of the musicians who create it. His words are more than just ciphers to exchange for dollars, just as the music he's writing about was always more than just noise for profit.”—Kurt Danielson, Tad / Vaporland

“Fans of Kurt Cobain and Nirvana should find much to savor in this fascinating oral history of one of rock's most iconic bands.”Booklist

“The book ably captures the lost milieu of independent rock, which Nirvana's moment irretrievably transformed.”Kirkus Reviews

Reviews from Goodreads

BOOK EXCERPTS

Read an Excerpt

1.0

First Fruit



February to December 1987

One evening in April 1987, a sweaty-palmed and fidgety trio of young men purporting to be a band named Skid Row (and decidedly not the more famous hair-metal...

About the author

Nick Soulsby

Nick Soulsby is the author of Dark Slivers: Seeing Nirvana in the Shards of Incesticide and blogs about the band on his web site.

Nick Soulsby

Official Links