Skip to main content
US Macmillan Tradebooks for Courses

Only Mostly Devastated

A Novel

Sophie Gonzales

Wednesday Books

Only Mostly Devastated Download image

ISBN10: 1250315891
ISBN13: 9781250315892

Hardcover

288 Pages

$17.99

CA$24.50

Request Desk Copy
Request Exam Copy

TRADE BOOKS FOR COURSES NEWSLETTER

Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Will Tavares is the dream summer fling—he’s fun, affectionate, kind—but just when Ollie thinks he’s found his Happily Ever After, summer vacation ends and Will stops texting Ollie back. Now Ollie is one prince short of his fairytale ending, and to complicate the fairytale further, a family emergency sees Ollie uprooted and enrolled at a new school across the country. Which he minds a little less when he realizes it’s the same school Will goes to . . . except Ollie finds that the sweet, comfortably queer guy he knew from summer isn’t the same one attending Collinswood High. This Will is a class clown, closeted—and, to be honest, a bit of a jerk.

Ollie has no intention of pining after a guy who clearly isn’t ready for a relationship, especially since this new, bro-y jock version of Will seems to go from hot to cold every other week. But then Will starts “coincidentally” popping up in every area of Ollie’s life, from music class to the lunch table, and Ollie finds his resolve weakening.

The last time he gave Will his heart, Will handed it back to him trampled and battered. Ollie would have to be an idiot to trust him with it again.

Right? Right.

Reviews

Praise for Only Mostly Devastated

“Heartfelt and charming, Only Mostly Devastated is a touching and delightful YA contemporary romance. Highly recommend for fans of Nicola Yoon, Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, and Sick Kids In Love.”—YA Books Central

Only Mostly Devastated is the kind of book I wish existed when my kids were younger—a charming, funny, laugh-out-loud teen romance that reminds all readers love comes in a multitude of flavors, and they are ALL sweet.”—Jodi Picoult, The New York Times–bestselling author of Small Great Things and A Spark of Light

“A delightful, heartwarming, heartrending story about family, love, friendship, and living your most authentic life. I couldn't put it down.”The New York Times–bestselling author Sandhya Menon

“This heartfelt, queer update on Grease features a diverse cast of teen characters and a charmingly earnest protagonist in Ollie. Gonzales handily balances lively banter with somber issues, and the compelling will they/won't they storyline warmly illustrates a timeless truth: love is love is love.”—Jenn Bennett, author of Alex, Approximately

“There can never be enough queer stories about romance—and when they are told with this much heart, humor and a swoon worthy story line, you never want them to end.”—Angelo Surmelis, author of The Dangerous Art of Blending In

“Irresistibly cute, hilariously sweet, this book warmed my heart with its characters and love story.”—Mason Deaver, author of the national bestseller I Wish You All the Best

"Wry but earnest, sweet but irreverent, heartbreaking but hopeful. With wit and authenticity, Only Mostly Devastated tells the story of what happens to a summer romance after summer is over. You'll be rooting for Ollie and his messy, wonderful friends from the first page to the last."—Hannah Capin, author of The Dead Queens Club and Foul Is Fair

“With razor-sharp wit, masterful comedic timing, and heaps of heart, these hilarious, lovable, heartbreakingly real characters make Only Mostly Devastated an instant hit and Sophie Gonzales one YA author to watch.”—Julia Lynn Rubin, author of Burro Hills

"Summer lovin’ gets a Southern twist in this addicting coming-of-age gay romance. Sweet and tart in equal measure . . . Poignant, piquant, and not to be missed.”—Kirkus Reviews

“Sweet and earnest . . . A worthwhile romance for any collection.”Booklist

“Gonzales turns in a witty, smart, credible, and irreverent contemporary romance that handles all these elements skillfully and with heart . . . The power of this fun Grease retelling is that it normalizes the spectrum of sexual orientations. Recommended for all teens.”—School Library Journal

Reviews from Goodreads

BOOK EXCERPTS

Read an Excerpt

1

It was late afternoon, on the very last Wednesday of August, when I realized Disney had been lying to me for quite some time about Happily Ever Afters.

Because, you see, I was four days into mine, and my prince was...

About the author

Sophie Gonzales

SOPHIE GONZALES is a YA contemporary author. She graduated from the University of Adelaide and lives in Melbourne, Australia, where she currently works as a psychologist. When she isn’t writing, she can be found ice skating, performing in musical theatre, and practicing the piano. She is also the author of The Law of Inertia.

Melbourne Actor's Headshots

Sophie Gonzales

Official Links