Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Rookery

The Rookery

The Nightjar Duology (Volume 2)

Deborah Hewitt

Tor Books


Return to Deborah Hewitt's magical alternate London of the Rookery as the Nightjar series continues...

After discovering her magical ability to see people's souls, Alice Wyndham only wants three things: to return to the Rookery, join the House Mielikki and master her magic, and find out who she really is.

But when the secrets of Alice's past threaten her plans, and the Rookery begins to crumble around her, she must decide how far she's willing to go to save the city and people she loves.

"Superb, darkly charming.... It's a delight to explore the Rookery..." --Publishers Weekly, starred review

Praise for The Rookery

Praise for The Nightjar

"I thoroughly enjoyed this. The compelling plot and original mythological elements kept me gripped. And here's to more from the author, as I need to see some of these mysteries resolved." --Genevieve Cogman

"Darkly enchanting...the Nightjar is a magical adventure full of danger, betrayal, and devotion." --Emily Borsa, Booklist

"Superb, darkly charming.... It's a delight to explore the Rookery... The wildly imaginative Hewitt is a writer to watch." --Publishers Weekly starred review


Deborah Hewitt

DEBORAH HEWITT lives in the UK, somewhere south of Glasgow and north of London. She's the proud owner of two brilliant boys and one very elderly dog. When she's not writing, she can be found watching her boys play football in a muddy field, or teaching in her classroom. Occasionally she cooks. Her family wishes she wouldn't. The Nightjar is her first book.

image of Deborah Hewitto
Courtesy of author

Deborah Hewitt

Tor Books

Latest on Facebook