Book details

Macmillan Children's Book

All the Windwracked Stars

The Edda of Burdens (Volume 1)

Author: Elizabeth Bear; Read by Kate Reading

All the Windwracked Stars

All the Windwracked Stars


About This Book

The first of three books in the captivating science fiction Edda of Burdens series
On Sale

Book Details

In Elizabeth Bear's All the Windwracked Stars the last of the Valkyries has come to the last city at the end of time, to reclaim the ancient swords of her dead brothers and sisters

It all began with Ragnarok, with the Children of the Light and the Tarnished ones battling to the death in the ice and the dark. At the end of the long battle, one Valkyrie survived, wounded, and one valraven – the steeds of the valkyrie.

Because they lived, Valdyrgard was not wholly destroyed. Because the valraven was transformed in the last miracle offered to a Child of the Light, Valdyrgard was changed to a world where magic and technology worked hand in hand.

2500 years later, Muire is in the last city on the dying planet, where the Technomancer rules what's left of humanity. She's caught sight of someone she has not seen since the Last Battle: Mingan the Wolf is hunting in her city.

Imprint Publisher

Macmillan Audio



In The News

“Bear's … elegant storytelling should appeal to fans of Charles de Lint, Jim Butcher, and other cross world and urban fantasy authors.” —Library Journal on Whiskey and Water

“Bear has a gift for capturing both the pleasure and pain involved in loving someone else, particularly in the acid love story between Kusanagi-Jones and Katherinessen. While these double-crossed lovers bring the novel to a nail-biting conclusion, it is the complex interplay of political motives and personal desires that lends the novel its real substance.” —Washington Post on Carnival

About the Creators

All the Windwracked Stars

All the Windwracked Stars