Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Super Life of Ben Braver

The Super Life of Ben Braver

Ben Braver (Volume 1)

Marcus Emerson

Roaring Brook Press


It all started with a peanut butter cup . . .

which leads Ben Braver to a secret school for kids with super abilities.

Ben has never had any special powers—and maybe never will. But could this be his chance to become the superhero he's always dreamed of?

Packed with black-and-white art and comic strips throughout, The Super Life of Ben Braver is the first book in a hilarious adventure series about the greatness that lies within any middle schooler who dreams big from Marcus Emerson, the author of the smash hit Diary of a 6th Grade Ninja series.


7 p.m.


Eight months ago.

My whole life changed all because I wanted a peanut butter cup.

It was the end of summer vacation, and I was in my basement binging the second season of...

Praise for The Super Life of Ben Braver

“Fans of superhero fiction will laugh out loud and identify with aggressively regular Ben. Just the right mix of mystery and kooky fun.” —Kirkus Reviews

“A clever hybrid novel that’s sure to be a hit with the comic-cartoon crowd and fans of superhero tales.” —School Library Journal

“A crazy fun ride—action packed and loaded with laughs!” —Max Brallier, New York Times–bestselling author of The Last Kids On Earth


Reviews from Goodreads

Marcus Emerson

Marcus Emerson is the author of the hit Diary of a 6th Grade Ninja series and the Secret Agent 6th Grader series. His career started in 2nd grade when he discovered Garfield. He grew up playing Super Mario Bros. 4, watching Thundercats, and reading comics like X-Men, Superman, and Wildcats. He lives in Eldridge, Iowa with his wife and children.

image of Marcus Emersono
Stephanie Michelle Photography

Roaring Brook Press

Latest on Facebook